PDA

View Full Version : New to the hobby

Camaro11
11/06/2016, 03:14 PM
Hello all I am new to the hobby and have 90 gallon fish only tank with live rock. I was told I have a really god set up and everything I need. My question is thebplace I got everything from and came and set everything up said after 24 hrs I can add "starter" fish such as grouper trigger snowflake eel. They also told me not to turn on protein skimmer until 1st cycle is done. So being new to the hobby I lisntened and already lost 2 fish. My saltwater levels are good and ph is good but my ammonia is very high. Any advice would be greatly appreciated thank you

gone fishin
11/06/2016, 03:26 PM
Sadly you got some bad advice from the fish store.

I will assume now that you do not have any livestock in the tank which is good, any other livestock will stand a good chance of dying as well. since you have ammonia in the tank do nothing and let the tank cycle. eventually the ammonia will turn to nitrite and then nitrite to nitrate. Once the ammonia and nitrite are down to zero, this may take a few weeks, then you can do a water change and slowly begin to add livestock.

A few suggestion:

Purchase some test kits for the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. BTW what is your ammonia level now??

while the tank is cycling read up on quarantine procedures and Tank transfer method. to prevent the introduction of parasites and diseases.

At the top o the forum page there is a sticky called setting up, look for the big red arrow, it is full of useful information.

From now on I would be skeptical of any advice given by that particular fish store.

In the future when posting try to give actual testing numbers and pertinent tank equipment info. this will help give more detailed responses.

Good luck just my 2 cents.

I forgot, welcome to the forum.

Camaro11
11/06/2016, 04:06 PM