PDA

View Full Version : Need advice! 4 mo old tank - new CUC, hermits fine but mass snail die off.

MattieH
11/13/2016, 10:40 PM
Greetings!

I'm kind of new at this... just getting back into reefing after almost 20 years out of the hobby...

I set up my 78 gal with 20 gal sump back in July and started the cycle with 80lbs of CaribSea, a fuge full of miracle mud and eventually 50lbs of ReefCleaners dry rock. Nearly four months later and I'm finally fully cycled. I used the pure ammonia method. Went through a three week nitrite spike, and then a few weeks of super high nitrates. The tank was cycled when all of the levels were at 0 and I could give it a decent dose of ammonia on any given evening and all the levels were back to 0 by the next evening. I had a big diatom bloom half way through, but it was mostly solved with a water change. There is now a moderate amount of diatoms in the tank, no other algae as of yet.

So... I waited until levels were steady for a week plus, and then contacted ReefCleaners for my custom Cuc. Per John's recommendation I ordered 50 dwark ceriths, 17 nassarius, 17 regular ceriths, 16 nerites, 14 hermits, 2 emerald crabs,a ball of chaeto and a package of reef pods. They came in the mail last Tuesday, and I had them in the tank within a half hour of delivery.