PDA

View Full Version : city water started having high Chloramine


m0nkie
11/15/2016, 04:09 PM
Spectrapure.

Hello. I purchased your maxcap 2:1 180gpd unit. Everything works great. 0 TDS. However, a lot of my friends are having issue with their tank. The only thing we can speculate is the increased chloramine in city water lately.. I'd like to add a Chloramine filter to my RODI.

What do you suggest? which filter and which cartridge? I'd like to stick with your brand. Should I add it before or after the RODI machine?

thanks!

-Tony

JohnnyRocket
11/21/2016, 05:51 PM
Did you check with your municipal water dept first? They will tell you if they have increased the chloramine in the drinking water. They have a safe level of 4 milligrams per liter. So i doubt they will raise it above the level that is mandated by the EPA. That is also the maximum level allowed.

But you can get a copy of your municipal water supply analysis, it will tell you everything that is in your water supply. It's free of course.

You are using a R/O before the DI correct? If not, that would be the first thing to add to your water treatment system. As it will increase the life of the DI filters, besides remove the chloramine from the water. The first filter is a G.A.C (Granulated Activated Charcoal), that will remove the chloramine from the water.

SpectraPure
11/23/2016, 01:26 PM
Do your friends use SpectraPure Filtration?

You could replace the carbon filter with the 1 Micron ChlorPlus Chloramine Removal Carbon Block Filter 10-inch - CF-CR-1-10

http://spectrapure.com/1-Micron-ChlorPlus-Chloramine-Removal-Carbon-Block-Filter-10-inch


Scott in Support at SpectraPure

m0nkie
12/05/2016, 05:24 PM
Spectrapure,

We use all kinds of RODI machines, mostly Spectrapure.

You can see one of the threads here. It's in the general Los Angeles areas. Lot of random SPS STN.
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2612953

m0nkie
12/05/2016, 05:27 PM
Do your friends use SpectraPure Filtration?

You could replace the carbon filter with the 1 Micron ChlorPlus Chloramine Removal Carbon Block Filter 10-inch - CF-CR-1-10

http://spectrapure.com/1-Micron-ChlorPlus-Chloramine-Removal-Carbon-Block-Filter-10-inch


Scott in Support at SpectraPure

Scott,

Thank you. However, I want to add a new filter housing instead of changing out 1 of the original blocks. I know the Chloramine filter needs to go in before RODI.

Which filter housing should I get?

The intake your 2:1 MAXCAP RODI is 1/2", thicker than the 1/4" ones from your extra filter housing. Would a smaller intake cause issues with supply water? Would it reduce the 2:1 ratio?

I can't find any filter housing that has 1/2" intake tubes

SpectraPure
12/05/2016, 07:00 PM
It is 3/8" tubing for the 180 GPD.

Here's the housing:

http://spectrapure.com/PARTS-SUPPLIES/FILTER-HOUSINGS-SHELLS/10in-Clear-FIlter-Housing-w-1-4in-FPT-Ports

and two 3/8" Push-to-1/4" Male Thread:

http://spectrapure.com/PARTS-SUPPLIES/FITTINGS/Straight-Male-Adapter-3-8in-Quick-Connect-x-1-4-MPT-Acetal

Scott in Support

m0nkie
12/06/2016, 09:52 PM
Thanks Scott!

I assume the 2 housing FA-2STA-10 works exactly the same?

I'll place the purchase for dual tonight.

SpectraPure
12/06/2016, 11:07 PM
Order that and put in the special notes that you want 3/8" elbows instead of 1/4" elbows. There shouldn't be any extra charge. If you want to PM us, we'll make sure you get what you ask for.

Scott in Support at SpectraPure

m0nkie
12/07/2016, 01:58 AM
thank you! I placed the order (Order ID: 19600) and wrote in the notes.

m0nkie
12/09/2016, 01:05 PM
What would be the new order for these filters? I currently have your 5 stage Maxcap unit.

SEDIMENT > CARBON > DI > DI.

adding 2 Chloramine Blocks.

Chloramine go before Carbon after Sediment? or before Sediment?

thanks

SpectraPure
12/09/2016, 01:08 PM
Sediment > carbon > chloramine > ro membrane > di > di.