PDA

View Full Version : 2x AI prime HD's on 75 gallon


Charley Diesing
12/08/2016, 12:25 PM
Looking at using 2x AI prime HD's on 75 gallon...

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/prime-hd-led-module-black-body-aqua-illumination.html

Stocking for corals will be mainly softies, with some LPS... Considering a RBTA. But no SPS done with SPS for a while...

Thoughts are welcomed,

Charley

Flanders
12/08/2016, 01:01 PM
They only cover an 18x18 area. I have one over an 18x24x18 and I think I need to supplement it with something else. I have it turned up practically all the way, and I'm not getting coverage at the ends of the tank, and a 75 is four inches taller. Three would give you good coverage.

Hentz
12/10/2016, 03:00 PM
I agree. Three AI Prime HD's would give you the coverage you're looking for. Or if allowed in budget, spend the extra on two Hydra 26 HD's. Maybe even find some used!

zooman72
12/10/2016, 03:48 PM
I agree. Three AI Prime HD's would give you the coverage you're looking for. Or if allowed in budget, spend the extra on two Hydra 26 HD's. Maybe even find some used!

I don't think even three Prime's would be enough (plus 75's typically have a center brace, no?), but a pair of Hydra 26's might just do the trick...

Hentz
12/10/2016, 03:55 PM
I don't think even three Prime's would be enough (plus 75's typically have a center brace, no?), but a pair of Hydra 26's might just do the trick...

You're completely right. Totally forgot about the brace.
Well three would be okay if they're over a tank with either Euro-Brace or just completely rimless with no brace lol.

Overall, I still think the step up to two Hydra 26's would be best. Also completely up-to-par if the OP decides to include SPS eventually which.... You might be sick of it now.. But lets be real.. :lol:

Charley Diesing
12/11/2016, 10:32 PM
I'm considering doing a canopy with 2x Prime HD's and 2x 48" T5's... Any thoughts?

Anthony357
12/12/2016, 08:14 AM
i have 2 hydra 26 HD's i am looking to get rid of. If you are interested

Tron_954
12/12/2016, 08:17 AM
I use a prime on my 10g...

IMO its probably underpowered for 75g??? if youre on a budget it'll be a great option but i don't know what kind of penetration you would need.... if its a deep tank then hydras would be a better option

Anthony357
12/12/2016, 12:09 PM
I had 2 of the regular primes on my 90... which was mainly going to be fish only, but i started putting in a few corals here and there, one of which being a bubble tip anemone and a long tenticle plate coral (both of which were on the bottom of 2 feet tall tank) both did exceptionally well in there, i think you could be ok as long as you dont get any of those high requiring light corals