PDA

View Full Version : Species for a salt water touch tank.

MandatoryDenial
12/11/2016, 03:59 PM
Hello keepers,

I am a teacher in South Florida and recently I was handed some tanks to make into interactive exhibits and the funds to pull it off. Currently we are cycling three tanks and two of the teachers (including myself) want to keep an invertebrate only touch tank. Would anyone be able to recommend specific species of invertebrates only that my kids could safely take from the tank, put on a viewing tray, and safely view under a field microscope.

Thank you

neiltus
12/11/2016, 05:36 PM
How old are the students?

I know a lot of us are hands on when it comes to our tanks...but you aware that there are quite a few things in our tanks that are pretty darn toxic and can provide contact issues.

MandatoryDenial
12/11/2016, 06:05 PM
How old are the students?

I know a lot of us are hands on when it comes to our tanks...but you aware that there are quite a few things in our tanks that are pretty darn toxic and can provide contact issues.

7th and 8th Grade. Yes I am aware that some are. That is why I am asking for ideas. There will be no cucumbers for instance.

neiltus
12/11/2016, 06:55 PM
You might do better going micro with this with microscope work. Over in the reef chemistry there is a user named Jason who does a lot of biological observation with microscope (and photography).-look for the 'vibrant' thread in that forum...we are trying to kill off a troublesome dinoflagellate bloom in tanks.

The only invertebrate that I would suggest viewing under a tray and touching might be a hermit/snails. Don't get me wrong, depending on the type of scopes you have access to and the tray size you might have other options.

But I would not go throwing a 100 buck anemone under my Leica expecting it to survive. A glass anemone, sure.