PDA

View Full Version : My plan, any good?

Stefanm
12/13/2016, 12:43 PM
Ok, i'm a newbie/beginner with salt water, however I do have experience with water keeping for Koi's, I had a very nice pond back in England, now I live in India, coastal tropics.

Anyway, I want to set up a reef/mixed aquarium, dimensions in inches 46 L x 22 W x 22 H, these are the outside measurements, it should be around 300 litres or 90 US gallons in 10 mm glass. Sump in 6 mm (quarter inch) glass will hold approximately half the volume. My check list is as follows:

1) Tank-DIY Build
2) Sump-DIY Build
3) Lighting-Have decided and researched on a DIY build, with a HurricaneX controller, should cost me around $350 and be around 220 watts max
4) Sand, not sure what to use here, I can take from the sea, buy branded or maybe use swimming pool filter sand?
5) Live Rock-Sourcing this, not easy here, trouble is the transport.
6) Protein skimmer, looking at a model for double my tank size.
7) Test kits-Will look for a package kit to start me off.
8) Salt-Sea salt or branded packaged salt-not sure, advice would be nice.
9) Wave maker pumps-Going to buy 3, 2 to use and one as a spare, can be used for quarantine also.
10) Return pump-I think something around 5000 LPH would be good?
11) Hydrometer
12) Nets
13) Reactor? Do I need this?
14) Chiller Unit-Will be modding a water chiller, the copper pipe will be replaced with stainless steel, this will sit in the return chamber, will be hooking up to a thermostat and probe.
15) Macro algae for the refiguim.
16) Cleaners-Snails etc. please advise?
17) Stock, fishes and corals, would like advice for a beginner, what to stock? I don't want heavy stock of fish, 6-8 max, one tang would be nice.
18) Filter media, activated carbon? Do I need this or anything else?

Any advice (whether I take it or not) is most welcome.

Thanks for reading,

Stefan

Stefanm
12/13/2016, 12:51 PM
19) Heater-It can get quite cool here in the tropics.

Hal
12/13/2016, 01:18 PM