PDA

View Full Version : Curing Pukani Rock

chubble
12/13/2016, 05:32 PM
I purchased some Pukani rock from BRS and am currently curing in a tub with heaters and pumps.

Can I add Stability to help speed up the curing process or is better recommended to just wait for the whole process to take place on it own?

Chopper65
12/13/2016, 05:56 PM
Did you do anything to the rock before you put it in the tubs?
The pukani I got from them was pretty dirty and smelly. I pressure washed it real good, then gave it a bleach bath for 24 hours, then gave it all a muriatic acid bath for 25-40 min.
I then pressure washed it good and its been sitting out to dry for a few days now.

I was told it was good to go in the tank but I dont have my tank yet. Was also told it would be ok to put in tubs with saltwater heater and pumps and no light until my tank was ready, so thats what Im going to do in the next cpl days.

I think you can add a product like Prodibio or Bio Spira to help things along.
Im new at this as well and Im sure someone will chime in soon.

CrayolaViolence
12/13/2016, 06:02 PM
If you want to speed it up, ad a skimmer. That's about all you can do. I've never bleached or acid washed any rock. I just give it the time it needs in a tub with circulation. I'd wait at least a week before adding a skimmer though, and do a 90% water change. Get rid of the worst of the gunk then start over with fresh saltwater, or as much as you can. The skimmer should get pretty active. You usually know it's good to go when your skimmer is no longer up taking a lot of crap.

chubble
12/13/2016, 06:08 PM
Did you do anything to the rock before you put it in the tubs?
The pukani I got from them was pretty dirty and smelly. I pressure washed it real good, then gave it a bleach bath for 24 hours, then gave it all a muriatic acid bath for 25-40 min.
I then pressure washed it good and its been sitting out to dry for a few days now.