PDA

View Full Version : New to reefing, need suggestions on lighting for kessil A160 Tuna blue

keendy81
12/14/2016, 07:33 PM
Hi,

I'm new to reef aquarium
I have a 60 litre, with 2 clownfish, 2 yellow wrasse, 5 Hermit crabs, I also just stocked my tank with soft and lps corals, tree coral, Xenia, eagle eye polys, waving hand.

I also just got myself a kessil A160 tuna blue and getting a controller for it!

I would like some suggestions on the lighting settings when I get the controller!

I want my corals to grow healthy as I want the best from these corals as I spent a lot of money on the equipment and the live stock over the past month.

Please I need help with the lighting settings, if anyone could suggest a lighting schedule I would be so appreciated

ElementalJ
12/14/2016, 09:44 PM
Wow, thirty people viewed this and didn't say a thing. [emoji53]

I run my 160 on a ten hour schedule with 90 minute ramps. Since the tank I'm keeping is relatively shallow I keep the light at the max distance for decent spread and to negate the hot spot. Be careful with these lights as they tend to burn corals if not adjusted properly. When you purchase the controller, I'd start out with a 30-35% intensity over a span of several weeks to give the corals time to adjust. The color end of control appears to be more for our eyes, than to give any specific benefit.

I'd suggest you pay a visit to YouTube for further instructions if possible and best of luck to you.

J

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

moondoggy4
12/14/2016, 09:53 PM
I have a Kassil 160 over my 7 gallon tank I have lots of softies in it, I started at the lowest and bluest setting I do not have a controller just on/off, I SLOWLY ramped up the percentage and I mean slowly, I am now about 35%. So I would start at the lowest setting and watch your corals if they are reaching turn them up if they are shrieking turn then down quickly.

minus9
12/14/2016, 09:58 PM