PDA

View Full Version : Can I Get Some Advice

jpcemc
01/08/2017, 09:37 PM
Hello everyone. I am newer to the hobby, but I have a passion for taking care of the fish I bring into my house. I am still learning and I am sure making mistakes, but I am hoping that you all can overlook my newbiness and offer me some advice to help me save a fish that I bought to attempt to save it's life.

I went to my local LFS and they had a One Spot Foxface that they expected not to make it due to not eating, etc. I brought it home and have it in a 10G quarantine tank next to my other q-tanks. I have the salinity at 1.024 currently, temp at 78.4, no ammonia, nitrites or nitrates. The fish is now eating pellets w/garlic and seems better, but it still lays at about a 45 degree angle and seems to breathe a bit faster along with dark coloration when stationary. When it is eating it is moving and acting perfectly normal. Is this a normal trait for this fish or should I be doing something else to help it survive?

Thanks for the advice.

Reef908
01/08/2017, 09:43 PM
They are easily scared. The dark pattern they display is basically telling you it's not happy. Do you have a place for it to hide in the tank? A pvc pipe works great for QT setups.

jpcemc
01/08/2017, 09:45 PM
I have 3 PVC fittings, nothing else on bottom and I have the tank wrapped to keep the motion around the tank from scaring it further. I have no light directly over the tank to reduce stress.

Reef908
01/08/2017, 09:50 PM
Cool. Just give it some time then. it will get more comfortable and once it's heathy enough for the display tank the other fish swimming in the open should help it be more bold too.

jpcemc
01/08/2017, 09:55 PM
Cool. Just give it some time then. it will get more comfortable and once it's heathy enough for the display tank the other fish swimming in the open should help it be more bold too.

Thank you for taking the time to help me. Just wanted to make sure that I am doing what I can to help it make it.