PDA

View Full Version : Super Long Nano Tank

Tarfish
01/16/2017, 11:14 PM
I'm new to saltwater, so any criticism is helpful.
I want to build a very long, narrow and low tank (plywood and acrylic). It would be 12 feet long, but only 14 inches high (some of which will be my plenum and behind plywood - the acrylic will only be 10 or 11 in. high) and 10 wide, with a matching sump. I understand this would give me about 180 gallons. I am building it like this so that:
1. I don't want to put 130 gallons in one spot and have it fall through the floor.
2. I like the accessibility of nano tanks but want more stability and inhabitants.
3. I want to set it into the wall so it shouldn't be in the way.
4. I have a lot of 1/4 inch acrylic. Shallow tank = thin acrylic & less lighting.
The sump would be split in half, each half would have its own overflow and 350gph pump. I have a 270gph powerhead for further circulation 970gph total. is that enough/ OK? or should I add more? I have two 200 gph hobs that came off a friend's mbuna tank.
Can I use the skimmer that came with the used 90g I bought?
What kind of fish could I put in? its narrow so I'd have to treat it like a bunch of 10s or can I add something bigger?
Garf's calculator says they don't reccomend anything bigger than 96 in. Am I missing something here?

sde1500
01/17/2017, 11:06 AM
Well first off, that is still roughly 80 gallons of water, so definitely not a nano.

Secondly, aquascaping that would be really difficult, since it is so narrow front to back. I would imagine lighting it would be a pain as well, since it is so long, you'd only be lighting up small areas with each light, you'd end up using a lot of fixtures. That isn't any where close to enough flow. You're planning a 12 ft long tank. You will need a bunch of power heads throughout or you'll end up with a lot of dead spots accumulating detritus.

Why not just do a big normal tank and reinforce the floor? It isn't too difficult.

Tarfish
01/17/2017, 06:12 PM