PDA

View Full Version : LM3 Auto top off Help


TheReefKeeper
01/22/2017, 02:02 PM
So a little confused setting the LM3 up with the Auto water change setup can anyone help?

So how does the tube detecting the water level for the top off work?

I set up the top off pump got it primed and I can run it until water comes out and then set it to on.

Once set to run it does not matter where the water level tub is set (up and down) it won't turn on and top off.

So how does it turn on or do you have to tell it how much to top off per day? I know your top off module (NON LM3) works off the pressure in the tube and this should be the same no?


SECOND QUESTION:

How does the Auto top off not turn on (PUMP C) when the water exchange pumps are on (PUMP A & B ) like the waste Salt water to drain what would tell Pump C Fresh RODI not to topoff?

First Pic:
This is the Level Sensor tube and the fresh (RO Topoff BLUE)
all in the Return side of the sump

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj72/TheReefKeeper/IMG_0160_1.jpg (http://s269.photobucket.com/user/TheReefKeeper/media/IMG_0160_1.jpg.html)

NEXT PIC:
This is in the steady level middle chamber with the skimmer, The RED is the Waste water line to the drain BLUE is fresh Salt Water In.

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj72/TheReefKeeper/IMG_0161_1.jpg (http://s269.photobucket.com/user/TheReefKeeper/media/IMG_0161_1.jpg.html)


Pump C is the (BLUE TOP OFF) pump fresh RODI
http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj72/TheReefKeeper/IMG_0162.jpg (http://s269.photobucket.com/user/TheReefKeeper/media/IMG_0162.jpg.html)

twon8
01/22/2017, 03:09 PM
You have to tell it how much to top off a day. The sensor is to prevent it from overflowing; it's a cut off


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SpectraPure
01/22/2017, 03:15 PM
So how does the tube detecting the water level for the top off work?

>> Air is trapped in the tube. Water rises and compresses the air which is sensed by pressure switch that breaks the power TO THAT PUMP, ONLY.


So how does it turn on or do you have to tell it how much to top off per day? I know your top off module (NON LM3) works off the pressure in the tube and this should be the same no?

>>Usually, you would set the FLOW for Pump C to be a bit more than you think you need for evaporation topoff.


SECOND QUESTION:

How does the Auto top off not turn on (PUMP C) when the water exchange pumps are on (PUMP A & B ) like the waste Salt water to drain what would tell Pump C Fresh RODI not to topoff?

>>It doesn't matter. The amounts moved each time are so small that the monitored level of the tank will still just naturally drop and normally turn on the top off (independently) when needed. For every "premature" turn on, there will be a "premature" turn off, and for every "late" turn on, there will be a "late" turn off. It all averages out quite well. You won't be off by any more than half of a 1/150th of the daily dose.

>>Scott at SpectraPure

TheReefKeeper
01/22/2017, 05:41 PM
Wow awesome couldn't be easier thanks for the quick response.