PDA

View Full Version : Preventative parasitic treatment for newbee

Maine932
01/30/2017, 11:04 AM
Hi, I am new to the hobby, so new the red sea tank has not arrived. My biggest fear is introducing Ich, Marine Velvet or Brooklynella (sp) to the tank. Is there a know process to rid all rock, sand, fish, coral or any invertebrate I plan on adding? I have scoured the internet and have received 3,000 sound steps, and 3000 rebuttals to those steps.

Sk8r
01/30/2017, 11:26 AM
Read the stickies. The anti-ich precaution is called TTM. My own recommended procedure is to simply observe one new fish over 4 weeks in a bare glass tank, feeding and quieting him after his capture, until you have NOT seen him break out in spots, but if you want a more proactive program, TTM will assure ich is not in question.

anthonys51
01/30/2017, 12:27 PM
your biggest fear. i wouldnt worry to much about it ich velvet and other dieases, dont lose any sleep over it :) read the stickies and most can be avoided, but you will lose fish and coral regardless of how diligent you are. i would say most people lost up to 75% of the fish they buy to other things besides old age, especially when new to hobby. even experts will lose fish, some species are harder to keep then others.. just read the stickies and take everyone advice with a grain of salt and try to use what best for you. unfortunately trial and error comes with this hobby, but some things can be avoided

Sk8r
01/30/2017, 02:12 PM
As a general rule, the fish's water should be the parameters in my sig line---if you don't have tests for those things, you need them. You should follow the procedures up in the stickies, be careful about salinity, as many shippers use 1.019 and our tanks are generally 1.024. This difference can kill. Read the sticky. You keep that water at those readings 24/7 and you shouldn't have great difficulties.

anthonys51
01/30/2017, 04:23 PM