PDA

View Full Version : Water cloudy after water change


Jon532
02/02/2017, 03:51 PM
Ok just as the title says. Last night did a large water change on my 120 gallon. Added 60 gal of new water with Probiotic salt.... the mix was clear at the time I added it around 9:30 last night. Just got home from work and the tank is super cloudy.
The sand bed was not stirred during the change... never had this issue before with AF however this is the largest single water change I've done. Any ideas why this is happening?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170202/9bc3ac3e08e79ce5e6334004a7f70b60.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170202/f05fe9701634addc55fdba7cc175e6ad.jpg

I'll add a couple pics however the pics don't really show the cloudiness great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Anirban
02/02/2017, 08:01 PM
I think this is bacterial bloom caused by probiotic bacteria from the salt. Just wait for couple of days it should clear up slowly.

jpas
02/02/2017, 08:02 PM
A 60% water change with the probiotic salt is way too much. The recommended amount is 10 to 15%.

I did a 20% w/c when I was converting to AF without any issues. I guess the salt contains the bacteria and carbon. You are having a bacteria bloom. Don't dose and more bacteria for a couple of days and it should clear up. Also be sure to point your power heads toward the water surface to get as much oxygen into the tank.

Jon532
02/02/2017, 08:23 PM
Ok this is what I was thinking it was due to so much new bacteria being added at once. Hopefully that's it however I just tested parameters to make sure everything was ok.... everything was within range except Mag which was off the charts high using Red Sea kits..... could the bloom be throwing off the results or do I have an issue. ( tested twice same result)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Anirban
02/02/2017, 09:21 PM
I will say dont do anything it will complicate the issue. Just wait and as Jpas suggested keep good circulation in the tank. It should clear up within next 48 hours. You added too much bacteria which resulted in bacterial bloom. Just feed the fishes and dont add any carbon source or new bacteria in the system.

Aquaforest
02/03/2017, 03:46 AM
Yes, as Anirban says.
Probiotic Reef salt contains probiotic bacteria that's why sometimes when your nitrate level is higher than 0 bacteria starts to work and water become cloudy.

We do not recommend to make that big water changes when you switch to new salt - especially probiotic what contains bacteria.

GoVols
02/04/2017, 11:05 PM
Yes, as Anirban says.
Probiotic Reef salt contains probiotic bacteria that's why sometimes when your nitrate level is higher than 0 bacteria starts to work and water become cloudy.

We do not recommend to make that big water changes when you switch to new salt - especially probiotic what contains bacteria.
Yes,
Bacteria with a carbon source too.

Use Regular AF reef salt for a large water change in my opinion. You can't measure how much carbon you dosed with a salt mix! Not to mention a large water change with a carbon salt mix.

If your do and large water change with AF Probotic salt you can't measure how much goodies just got put in like using Pro Bio s and NP Pro.

Made the same mistake many years ago with TM Bioactif salt and wont make that same mistake again. I hope AF is more forgiving to OP.

My TM mistake took 3 long heartbreaking months to clear up the damage.

I take full responsibility. I didn't reed TM instructions :(

Regards, GoVols

PS: AF really needs to come through with a YouTube series explaining your large product line and how to use it. You said it was already in the works months ago. Now you refuse to update us on that thread even though it's been asked to give us an update on making the series. Very frustrating...