PDA

View Full Version : Industrial Strength Coral Shears

ca1ore
02/03/2017, 04:04 PM
Need to do some serious pruning. Many of the coral branches are 5/8" and resisting my small shears. Already crushed the tip'of one finger. I'd like not to add any others. Any recommendations for a large cutter? I see BRS sells one.

Zatoichi
02/03/2017, 05:03 PM
I always like the Rio Precision professional Coral Clippers

Sent from my SM-J700T1 using Tapatalk

FamilyTank
02/03/2017, 05:08 PM
I have no experience at this, let me get that out there.
Could you use wire cutters or tin snips?

Sk8r
02/03/2017, 05:10 PM
Generally lps branching is hand-breakable. What on earth are you growing that defeats the shears? :)

Zatoichi
02/03/2017, 05:20 PM
Oh I thought we were talking about SPS if you can remove the coral from the tank you can set it on a piece of wood and hit it with a hammer and chisel or a Spade drill bit to fracture the LPS branches at the base where they connect it is not an exact science and a wet bandsaw is always best

tkeracer619
02/03/2017, 06:08 PM
I use large side cutters for hammer corals but the downside is they rust something fierce after use. I dip them in veggie oil after a good rinse.

I used to have a great pair of stainless bone snips that were the best. Can't find them anymore :(

vhuang168
02/03/2017, 08:12 PM
I use the coral cutters from Aquavitro. I can pop off the stems from coral plugs easily.

They also have the crescent cutters that look super aggressive. I also have those but never used it.

http://www.aquavitro.com/products/tools.html

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ca1ore
02/03/2017, 09:30 PM
Generally lps branching is hand-breakable. What on earth are you growing that defeats the shears? :)