PDA

View Full Version : Percula/ocellaris pairing help

Reef_Chief
02/14/2017, 02:18 PM
So my lovely unknowing wife surprised me with a percula clownfish (picasso) to pair with my already established ocellaris (black snowflake). :debi:

Now, i absolutely love the little guys but im still new to the marine hobby and i would like some opinions and advice on pairing, especially as they are different species and both around the same size of 1.5 inches.

I will explain what i have observed in the first day to begin.

For the first 4 hours the percula was pressing itself flat inbetween the powerhead and glass and only tried to approach the ocellaris once but was sharply chased off.

After this initial period of being cornered and hiding from the ocellaris i dropped a few pellets in for them both and the percula succeeded in grabbing a few away from the ocellaris. Ever since this the percula has steadily become more bold, trying all day to approach the obviously dominant ocellaris and when it has been attacked the percula has submitted by twitching which stops the attack just in time.

The attacks have gradually lessened over the course of the day but it is very obvious the percula wants to be around or at least let it be known it will submit to the ocellaris and the ocellaris has calmed down very slightly with the aggression.

Now, my questions are...

Is any of this good, bad, normal or otherwise?
Is there anything i should keep an eye out for or is there anything i can do to help ease this process of acceptance?

And seperately, at what point do they cease being juvinile, is this based on ages or would it go on size, or is this a nul question for whatever reason?

I have done alot of reading on this during the day but i feel i havent seen all of the same curcumstances mentioned in any one post or article ive read match mine.

I have a basic idea of whats going on (from what ive read) but would still like this explained to me just incase i have misunderstood.