PDA

View Full Version : Wave maker placement


chercm
02/17/2017, 05:13 AM
Hi all

I need some advice on placing the wave maker - I have a tunze 6105 on the left of the tank and over flow is on the right with the return on the side of it . I currently have 2 jebao rw8 below the return but planning to change to 6055


How should I place to get the right flow ???

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170217/43db6b0cbcdb7b48c86eb73bdc886437.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170217/b62ae0cd5a7991e5d68449a2ce5fe7b8.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170217/21d727e933f220a0e9153ca893f02f0a.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rvitko
02/17/2017, 08:57 AM
I think the placement you have is not bad, but to make it more discrete, I might use 2 6105's instead and place them each in the back corners, you could mount one on the overflow. I would aim them from back corner to the front about 18" in from the diagonal corner and about 8" from the top. I would alternate them so one is on high when the other is on low or ideally so one pulses for 6 hours while the other idles and then they switch. You want to hit the front before the corner so the current rolls around rather than bouncing right back.

chercm
02/17/2017, 02:01 PM
I think the placement you have is not bad, but to make it more discrete, I might use 2 6105's instead and place them each in the back corners, you could mount one on the overflow. I would aim them from back corner to the front about 18" in from the diagonal corner and about 8" from the top. I would alternate them so one is on high when the other is on low or ideally so one pulses for 6 hours while the other idles and then they switch. You want to hit the front before the corner so the current rolls around rather than bouncing right back.



Any pic ?? How to program the idle using tunze controller ?? If I mount at the over flow , is it to place the other at the current position ??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

chercm
02/17/2017, 04:01 PM
I think the placement you have is not bad, but to make it more discrete, I might use 2 6105's instead and place them each in the back corners, you could mount one on the overflow. I would aim them from back corner to the front about 18" in from the diagonal corner and about 8" from the top. I would alternate them so one is on high when the other is on low or ideally so one pulses for 6 hours while the other idles and then they switch. You want to hit the front before the corner so the current rolls around rather than bouncing right back.

what do you mean by this : I would aim them from back corner to the front about 18" in from the diagonal corner and about 8" from the top?

rvitko
02/20/2017, 07:53 AM
What controller do you have? You would need 7095, 7096, 7097 or 7000 to program an interval with idle.

You can mount the magnet holder on the overflow box, the outside half is also water proof.

Place the pump 8" from the top of the water in each back corner and aim them diagonally across the tank so they hit the front before the opposite corner.

chercm
02/20/2017, 07:56 AM
What controller do you have? You would need 7095, 7096, 7097 or 7000 to program an interval with idle.



You can mount the magnet holder on the overflow box, the outside half is also water proof.



Place the pump 8" from the top of the water in each back corner and aim them diagonally across the tank so they hit the front before the opposite corner.



Idle means lower than 30%???


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rvitko
02/20/2017, 10:23 AM
Idle is 30% with no pulse, or 20% on the newest pumps and controller, 5% on 6150 Stream 3.

chercm
02/21/2017, 03:59 PM
What controller do you have? You would need 7095, 7096, 7097 or 7000 to program an interval with idle.

You can mount the magnet holder on the overflow box, the outside half is also water proof.

Place the pump 8" from the top of the water in each back corner and aim them diagonally across the tank so they hit the front before the opposite corner.

although i am using Apex , i tried to perform the action that you describe , i do not see much flow on the return path .i am using the wide cage

chercm
02/22/2017, 04:55 AM
i am running 100%
http://vid2.photobucket.com/albums/y46/chercm/IMG_3536.mp4

rvitko
02/22/2017, 08:37 AM
Is it not possible to place both pumps on the long side and aimed across to the opposite long side, basically on the front or back instead of on the side of the tank.

chercm
02/22/2017, 03:40 PM
Is it not possible to place both pumps on the long side and aimed across to the opposite long side, basically on the front or back instead of on the side of the tank.

i am afraid it is not possible . i build this tank as peninsula. does it mean i will need to add 2 more 6105 ?

rvitko
02/23/2017, 08:48 AM
No, can you give me the tank dimensions, one possibility might be to use the narrow flow housings so the flow has more reach.

chercm
02/23/2017, 11:04 AM
4x2.5x2ft


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rvitko
02/23/2017, 11:39 AM
I assume that is ft and not meters? For that size in feet two pumps as you have them should be fine. Do you have them going to 100%? I would run one so every 3 seconds it pulses from 30%-100% while the other is at 30% and then they switch every 5-6 hours. I would probably aim them straight since the placement is not good for the flow pattern I recommended, the flow will hit in the middle and break up.

chercm
02/23/2017, 03:38 PM
I assume that is ft and not meters? For that size in feet two pumps as you have them should be fine. Do you have them going to 100%? I would run one so every 3 seconds it pulses from 30%-100% while the other is at 30% and then they switch every 5-6 hours. I would probably aim them straight since the placement is not good for the flow pattern I recommended, the flow will hit in the middle and break up.

yes it is in feet

chercm
06/29/2017, 05:59 AM
Any other advice ??? Or I should look for tunze stream 3???


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rvitko
06/29/2017, 08:31 AM
My apologies for missing your last reply. In general I would expect 2 6105, with 24V power (older power supplies had jumpers and could be set to 12, 18 or 24) to be plenty for any inhabitants in a tank this size. The Stream 3 is an option, but you have a very open rock structure making it harder to conceal. It would likely give you the flow you want as it is a much wider more full flow.

chercm
06/29/2017, 06:26 PM
Stream 3 is currently out of stock . I tried to contact sewatec in Germany and they had order backed till Jan . I currently running 24v but I find the gyre flow is pretty weak . Especially below the pump


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rvitko
06/30/2017, 08:08 AM
Production is very slow as they all get a 24hr test run and the production of the drive unit is complicated. I know Bulk Reef Supply, Marine Depot and I believe Premium Aquatics and Aquarium Specialty should all have them.

tweetyfish
07/01/2017, 10:20 AM
I think the placement you have is not bad, but to make it more discrete, I might use 2 6105's instead and place them each in the back corners, you could mount one on the overflow. I would aim them from back corner to the front about 18" in from the diagonal corner and about 8" from the top. I would alternate them so one is on high when the other is on low or ideally so one pulses for 6 hours while the other idles and then they switch. You want to hit the front before the corner so the current rolls around rather than bouncing right back.

Roger,
I have 2, 6105 with a 7095. I have the wide flow shrouds installed. Do you recommend this placement and flow pattern for a 180 (72x24x24)?

tweetyfish
07/02/2017, 12:39 PM
Well, I tried the above placement and because of the fine sand I have it created a well in the middle front of the display. I move the pumps to one at each end with the left towards the front and the right towards the back blowing straight across with an upwards angle. Seems like a good compromise and now I have very little sand moving around. Hope this keeps dead spots to a minimum.

rvitko
07/03/2017, 08:54 AM
Due to rock work and sand types placement is generally trial and error, main thing is to avoid dead spots, avoid detritus piling in areas and to keep a rhythmic and not chaotic flow pattern. I little chaos every once in a while to stir up debris is fine, but coral feeding benefits from a predictable and rhythmic flow pattern.