PDA

View Full Version : Lighting for a FOWLR


bucs_fan
02/25/2017, 04:19 PM
I want to purchase some new lights for my 700g FOWLR, I don't want the algae to spike too much, but want something controllable with a blue/white mix. Any suggestions? Ideas? I currently have a homemade LED set up that work great for no algae, but isn't quite what I am looking for as far as color. It's a 8' X 3' footprint. Thanks in advance for any input.

P.s. I would also like to add a anemone so a light that would work for that would be a bonus.

Socaltoaz
02/25/2017, 05:18 PM
I have 6 radions that I run around 20% intensity and have no issues with excessive algae growth.

Socaltoaz
02/25/2017, 05:18 PM
Sorry- I have a 1000 gallon total system.

dave.m
02/25/2017, 06:52 PM
With no photosynthesizing invertebrates to worry about in a FOWLR tank you can go for much more natural colour lights. Also, you won't need the intensity of light required to keep corals. You just want something that shows the natural beauty of your fishes' colours. You can aim for something less blue like 8000 to 12000 Kelvin in colour temperature, and about half the wattage needed for corals. You haven't mentioned how tall the tank is so it's difficult to make more specific suggestions.

Dave.M

CrayolaViolence
02/25/2017, 06:58 PM
I'm pretty sure it will be safe to say, if you have light (and the nutrients to support algae) you will have algae.

I don't use anything but natural room lighting on my FOWLR tank, it's pretty much the only way to guarantee no algae unless you are able to keep the water totally void of nutrients, even then some will just photosynthesize.
.

DrDNA
02/25/2017, 08:28 PM
I bought a few aquaticlife halo leds for a 36" deep 540g. I really like them.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

worm5406
02/26/2017, 01:09 AM
I want to purchase some new lights for my 700g FOWLR, .......... It's a 8' X 3' footprint. ......

P.s. I would also like to add a anemone so a light that would work for that would be a bonus.

That is almost a 4 foot tall tank to make it 700g of water. (47 inches or so)

To add an anemone... as you asked... Lets let some other people better with PAR at that depth answer.

Sand bed??

bucs_fan
02/26/2017, 12:01 PM
Thank you for the responses. The tank is 4' tall, I have rock that stacks probably 2 1/2' to 3' tall and I do have a sand bed.

DrDNA
02/26/2017, 07:30 PM
You could try the 165w ecoxotic cannons. They are pricey though, around $600 a pop

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk