PDA

View Full Version : 6095 stopped


MandM
03/14/2017, 09:23 PM
I have 2 6095s that I bought in November. I have them connected to my Apex controller. I clean them about once a month, in RODI/vinegar solution with a toothbrush.
One is working fine, but the other stopped. I swapped the power supply cord and the working one still works fine. I can feel the broken one vibrate but the propeller won't turn. The one that works, the propeller comes out and the metal shaft stays in the pump. The stuck one, the metal shaft comes out with the propeller. The propeller won't turn on the shaft, so I think that's the problem.

Should I just get a new propeller? If I send this in for service, should I include the wires and power supply and magnet/holder, or just the pump itself?

rvitko
03/15/2017, 08:17 AM
This would mean calcium built up on the metal shaft and it is cemented to the propeller assembly. The shaft is a permanent part of the motor, it is not available as a spare part and would need to be removed from the propeller and reinserted in the motor. In general a 6095 should need cleaning at 3-6 month intervals depending on pH, Calcium and KH levels, but cleaning needs to include a full disassembly before soaking, if the propeller is not removed, the small space between the hole in the propeller assembly and metal shaft will not be cleaned. I would send it in as we will need to get the shaft out and reinsert it in the motor. I would only need the pump itself, not the power supply and magnet holder. Include a note with return address and phone number.

Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin, TX 78753

MandM
03/15/2017, 10:14 PM
Perfect, thanks.

MandM
03/29/2017, 09:00 AM
So I got the pump back in the mail today. The impeller shaft is fixed back in the motor. I rinsed and tried it but it's still dead. Lights but no movement. When they did the repair, they didn't test it?
There was no note in the box to explain why I got my broken pump back.
:hmm4:

rvitko
03/29/2017, 09:13 AM
Can you PM me your name so I can look it up? I personally do every repair and they are all tested.

MandM
03/29/2017, 09:03 PM
:facepalm:

Well, this is embarrassing. The problem was hardware. It was the nut behind the keyboard!

After I plugged in the power it works like a charm.