PDA

View Full Version : All around help with SPS.

davehead86
03/24/2017, 01:23 PM
So I have been keeping saltwater tanks for a few years now, my dad has had them for decades. I have surpassed him in knowledge at this point :eek: and have started to try my hand at keeping SPS corals. So i started with some other corals in the tank to get things in the right place and understand how to take care of corals. I have a RBTA, 4 head frogspawn, 1 acan, three types of Zoas in a garden, 1 mushroom, and 1 favia that wasnt ever really doing good and then died in the tank. I think I'm doing ok at this point so I decide to add a "Blue Stag" Acropora, and a "Green Slimmer" from a friends tank. Both specimens are in the tank and seem to be doing ok at this point. My ALK was far too low and that caused a slight problem that I have corrected, my lights were also running an incorrect program for SPS so that has been changed. Two weeks into those changes and things are still going well.

Ill list off my tank, and then some questions IM having ...

Tank
65 gallon tank 36" wide tank so its deep
40 gallon breeder in the basement as a sump (probably 25 gallons full)
10 gallons of this sump is a ruble rock "refugium" that does not have an Cheto in it yet. I want to use this as a pod factory for a mandarin.

Equipment
SCA 301 Skimmer pulling good amounts of gunk out of the tank.
Vectra M1 Return Pump
BRS Dual Reactor Running GFO and Carbon
2 Vortech MP10's running on reefcrest at 40% maximum
2 Hydor Korilia's running at the top of the tank to break the surface
2 Radion XR30's hung 8 inches off the water (high as possible in the canopy)
Reefkeeper running on the sump as a monitor and safety system. (PH, Temp, high water alarms, shut off pumps / heaters if needed)

Living Creatures
2 Clownfish
1 Kole Eye Tang
1 Diamond Goby
1 Yellow watchman Goby
2 Firefish
1 Shrimp
Assorted Emerald crabs and snails
RBTA
Frogspawn
Acan
Zoa's
Mushroom
2 SPS

Questions: