PDA

View Full Version : 180gal Starphire New Reef Build - Work In Progress


dimasv
04/09/2017, 06:54 PM
Hi guys, my name is Dima from Brampton Ontario, and I want to share my new reef build. I would need lots of help from you. This would be my first tank with the sump and that size. I sold my nano 30 gal 6 years ago and many things has changed in this area brands and ways of doing some things. So looks like I have to learn a lot.

So far I have almost prepared new space for my tank in a basement. Had to change carpet to vinyl and install tiles at the area below the tank, so in case of the flooding and if I ever need to remove vinyl I dont have to move my tank.

Redid all the pipe work to create nice and clean area where I can work on my tank.

My tank was ordered a month ago from Miracles its going to be 180gal 72x24x24 , with sump about 60gal. So just waiting for it to start plumbing.

I am taking it slowly no rush so follow up !

Starting up

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/95314f74f4cbef719874ba3cdb755141.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/2b1f9ffc09d1d3a75598ef3cdffeb780.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/a5163808668750613f26f1a4cee8bca9.jpg

Installing subfloor

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/0d49d560c5d616dc55e2ab229a22d99a.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/67be49f1fc590dd3bc04940db227d168.jpg

Now goes the vynil

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/2003322d0c7588ca59ac1c75a3e56e4c.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/af3d05cfece755bb5e051c46ff1b1d76.jpg

Floor is done and my wife decide to space up the wall

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/ae970b2e77aac9a4815571c9d35ac82d.jpg

Know-how from my dad. If u are installing subfloor and concrete is not really flat instead of using pads complete floor installation and after that one person walks on the floor the other looks at the spots where its moving. Mark them with the marker. After that make a hole make sure it reaches the floor and fill it with constraction adhesive. Leave for 24 hours. Adhensive creates kind of posts and your floor does not move or squeak https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170409/e6bb163258205c97ceebf075c4b4a0a4.jpg

JUNBUG361
04/09/2017, 08:44 PM
Looks good Especially the space out wall. floor adhesive I'll keep that in mind

dimasv
04/10/2017, 07:34 AM
Looks good Especially the space out wall. floor adhesive I'll keep that in mind

Thank you! tank is coming soon so hopefully it will look good too :-)

dimasv
04/25/2017, 05:24 PM
Ok here is my new tds meter got of amazon it reads 139ppm tap water. According to this which rodi unit would i require would 4 stage be enough?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

dimasv
04/25/2017, 05:24 PM
Ok here is my new tds meter got of amazon it reads 139ppm tap water. According to this which rodi unit would i require would 4 stage be enough?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170425/49b26ce9ec93e2d0c0e09a7ab42334ee.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Joe0813
04/25/2017, 05:50 PM
I wouldn't get the stage 4.. it will take to long to make water. I also have a 180 and do 40 gallon bi-weekly water changes. so I got the BRS stage 6 plus. it doubles the gallon of water a day. a lot easier

dimasv
05/28/2017, 08:04 PM
My tank finally arrived!
There were 4 of us to move tank into the basement. What mistake I did ... it appears tank weight was 250kg instead of 150 as I thought.
Just want to share some things we had to do as maybe people are looking for solutions.
The easiest way to move the tank was to use this thing from homedepot,
https://www.homedepot.ca/en/home/p.hardwood-dowel-1-in-x-48-in-natural.1000115276.html

simply put the on floor, place tank on it and easily slide, tank moves like on wheels. We did move tank in horizontal and in vertical position with the same success.

The hard part was to move tank on the stand as it was too heavy and there were only 3 people left I think pictures will give you a better idea.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/222d17e6595770c9865a350bb1fda200.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/b72d01d9fc3abf82abb74f607656b30d.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/87a685ef8abc5f61c6533ff666d5bffe.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/280cc387a15a116dbaa74cf7eb98e1ef.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/dbd9bdcab9b959985c50230c1bc8ebe0.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/a79621f347d374232099980b72445de8.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/adfed1ddf50727dc0b41debb7f345b98.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/d60232557908fe9d20e448b8f2202252.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170529/313e2564c188bbe2577fcea835702358.jpg

JamesHolt
05/28/2017, 08:16 PM
Nice looking tank...

Heuristic
05/28/2017, 11:56 PM
Damn, that tank looks awesome. The glass is super thick LOL

Roggio
06/05/2017, 01:20 PM
Looking forward to seeing this thing take off. Are you worried about the floors? I have real wood floors and there's always some kind of water that gets on them.

dimasv
06/05/2017, 01:40 PM
Looking forward to seeing this thing take off. Are you worried about the floors? I have real wood floors and there's always some kind of water that gets on them.

Hope I dont have to, my tank is in the basement I installed tiles below the tank and installed subfloor around it and vinyl on top of subfloor. If I have flooding it should go beneath the subfloor and go straight to the drain in the floor but you never know :-)

Crack1sWak
06/20/2017, 09:00 PM
What are the suction cups that you are using? I am looking to buy them and I haven't been able to find out where they are from?

dimasv
06/21/2017, 05:47 AM
What are the suction cups that you are using? I am looking to buy them and I haven't been able to find out where they are from?
Actually those gave me the guys from Miracles i later returned them back. But i saw simular in Lowes but online only

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Crack1sWak
06/22/2017, 09:34 AM
What way are you going to be going for filtration? I can already see you are going to have a sump but are you going to go with any sort of system like a ZEOvit System or stick with a skimmer or a skimmer and refugium?

dimasv
06/22/2017, 09:47 AM
What way are you going to be going for filtration? I can already see you are going to have a sump but are you going to go with any sort of system like a ZEOvit System or stick with a skimmer or a skimmer and refugium?
Yes going with sump. Already have one custom made for me about 60gal. I want to setup refigium as never had one before and refugium way sounds interesting to setup. Thinking to get oversized buble magus skimmer

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Crack1sWak
06/22/2017, 09:49 AM
I have a refugium and an oversized skimmer and it is working well for me. I am following as Mike Paletta does and using miracle mud if you have ever heard of that. I haven't ran a tank without miracle mud but from what I am seeing it is working out great for me. I can really say in my opinion having a refugium and oversized skimmer is the way to go.

dimasv
06/22/2017, 11:02 AM
I have a refugium and an oversized skimmer and it is working well for me. I am following as Mike Paletta does and using miracle mud if you have ever heard of that. I haven't ran a tank without miracle mud but from what I am seeing it is working out great for me. I can really say in my opinion having a refugium and oversized skimmer is the way to go.
Do you happen to have a link to Mikes article

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Crack1sWak
06/22/2017, 11:04 AM
The closest thing I could find was a youtube video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xifweoA0N4Q
If you go to about 11:30 he shows him inserting it in tank and talks about it. I haven't been able to find an article from him but many people used it and if you do some looking I believe you will be able to find something more if this video doesn't answer your questions.

Crack1sWak
06/22/2017, 11:09 AM
I did some further looking and found a video where he talks all about it.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GpMM5Gn-fE

LuizW13
07/26/2017, 01:05 PM
My favorite thing is the space wall lol.

Any progress?

dimasv
07/26/2017, 01:39 PM
My favorite thing is the space wall lol.

Any progress?

slowly moving towards the first launch. Been on vacation and busy with the family so did not do much.

So far connecting my water change station to the sump, just finished my stand for the sump. Still waiting for more plumbing parts to come and for my Vortech DC pump. Have a rodi unit to hang on the wall and pumps to pump the water from buckets into the sump. Will try to post some pics soon.

dimasv
07/29/2017, 09:43 AM
Finally have a bit of a progress. First test of my tank for leaks with fresh water. Will keep it filled for a week.

Black wall is where sump goes. Drilled all holes for pipes and wires.

My new pump.

My sump.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170729/537db6b2d1c132da10f22de3160cf2d0.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170729/dd04d5c37de06d29d0f35284cd9693dd.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170729/57a3312cddfc22455bdf31408ea2b252.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170729/ea8b7d1a014ce1eb631e44514a0c82b8.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

dimasv
07/29/2017, 09:45 AM
Here is my stand development for sump. What do u think guys will it hold 60gal sump? I used deck screws and no nails adhensive https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170729/76b4941e59edb728b9c955e6e7c2ad7e.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170729/39f7ab831cb6d7cad23ac60d867078fe.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170729/ea4dd26e27d94974dcf832ba3ef9fe80.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Crack1sWak
08/04/2017, 09:49 PM
I think it will hold and I like the progress that is occuring


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dimasv
08/05/2017, 12:52 PM
Hi guys. When u get a min please help me verify my plumbing setup before i glue it all together. Any feedback is appreciated. Excuse my English in the video :-)

https://youtu.be/fDS_lSZzvMMhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170805/7e7349396ed51a03c40633938b7c6026.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

bk.
08/05/2017, 01:03 PM
Dang this is going to be sweet. Your display tank is gorgeous.

The sump stand should be more than adequate too.

Crack1sWak
08/05/2017, 10:41 PM
That is a very nice plumbing setup you have going on. The only thing I would change personally is having the emergency go into on of the two middle sections of the sump. The reason I would do it that way is because the return section can fill up very fast and you wouldn't want a flood to occur because of that and since the middle areas have much more room they can hold more water and it would still make the loud noise to alert you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dimasv
08/06/2017, 09:19 AM
That is a very nice plumbing setup you have going on. The only thing I would change personally is having the emergency go into on of the two middle sections of the sump. The reason I would do it that way is because the return section can fill up very fast and you wouldn't want a flood to occur because of that and since the middle areas have much more room they can hold more water and it would still make the loud noise to alert you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thank you, I actually looked into that and as I see inside the sump water should start going into other sections from return section if it raises a lot, I see it going overflow only if not enough space in the whole sump.

Crack1sWak
08/06/2017, 09:25 AM
Alright, it's always good to test. It seems like you should have enough room in the sump so it sounds like you are all good to glue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dimasv
08/17/2017, 06:26 PM
Finally plumbing for tank is done. Still working on plumbing to deliver water after that can do leak test. I used silicone on all the bulkheads. Replaced main valves with gate valves. Hopefully it will all work out.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170818/ae908a00b2136a8c99963ec569b19b43.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170818/c8e54b077d81a91128bc97b7f75a351b.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170818/2c67e24dd1f5bdc896eea801626059e0.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170818/4770127a2fed7e7679989aad2b5c8b99.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

dimasv
08/27/2017, 07:23 PM
Almost done with my water mixing station

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170827/5c7664cc2444d6d51110eda69565d940.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170827/2fa6ad89e9b57f0e9054b796ef376644.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170827/60eb95f56ba74181f939ea26fea075a7.jpg

mclayj
08/27/2017, 09:53 PM
Where did you get those tanks for your water mix station? I live in Toronto and will be looking to purchase water tanks like that for my own mixing station over the next few months. Thanks.

dimasv
08/28/2017, 07:16 AM
Where did you get those tanks for your water mix station? I live in Toronto and will be looking to purchase water tanks like that for my own mixing station over the next few months. Thanks.

I called these guys, picked up the next day

http://dynamicplasticsolutions.com/index.php/plastic-vertical-tanks/

GSMclowns
08/28/2017, 11:23 AM
Nice looking tank.
How thick are the glass panels? and how wide are the eurobrace pieces?
you ordered the stand from Miracle as well? How many inches are those steel bars on the stand?

Thanks

dimasv
08/29/2017, 03:58 PM
Nice looking tank.
How thick are the glass panels? and how wide are the eurobrace pieces?
you ordered the stand from Miracle as well? How many inches are those steel bars on the stand?

ThanksThank you. Yes the tank and stand from miracles. Glass 19mm. Stand bars all 2inch

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

dimasv
08/29/2017, 03:59 PM
Picked up my new powerhead from canada corals. Not sure if it will work ok on 19mm glass and i dont have to go mp60.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

dimasv
08/29/2017, 04:00 PM
Picshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170829/15bafcb51506b7f2d945e38124d33691.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170829/0299aaa75f6efda4950db7e341db97d3.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

dimasv
09/03/2017, 01:47 PM
Hi guys my rock is here got 130lb of marco dry rock and 30 lb of dry live rock. To het some colorine algae. However they are diff color. Do you know if marco rock will change the color as it looks really white now? Maybe i should not use live rock at all?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170903/42294ce4db45e26d9ecc68178849cf5c.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170903/6f45bf21b0ec34dc9c9a399dc24f95bf.jpg

Crack1sWak
09/03/2017, 01:49 PM
From what I have experienced over time it will all get covered in coraline and then it will all look the same but that can take some amount of time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dimasv
09/14/2017, 06:05 PM
First look at my aquascape not sure if not too much sand.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170914/f0be084290413420f7f1ec5a86bbe515.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170914/67872837765fa8aa496ec2f4586776e8.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170914/dae35ce92a3213fc5a828a23cf1b935b.jpg

tjm9331
09/15/2017, 02:15 PM
a nice think sand bed is nice, the scape looks good too. Your Marco rocks will color up over time and having the dry live rock in the tank with them will/should help speed up that process cause they will help seed the tank with coralline algae

btw I subbed the thread, looking forward to see what comes next.

I'm looking to do a large tank like this sometime next year so this will be a good learning experience

dimasv
09/15/2017, 06:31 PM
My sump is ready and running waiting for skimmer and apex.


https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170916/05a60eb343ee49198647de9057138fb7.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170916/fdf6787c36ffe6fdc4dfa9e41623d9c4.jpg

dimasv
09/23/2017, 06:21 PM
My skimmer finally arrived its all set. Tuned it on ar low speed and opened gate valve full. I guess i need run it like that for couple of weeks. Had to make a small stand to keep it at 8in deep

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170924/8f259dbf1d35a6aaeaf6e03fbf482f74.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170924/24f8dc60a66c105f4ab7ef3a278b5c5d.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170924/49348ed310124614533b9ee0a3ac9d4c.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170924/404be23b711ad2504cbdfe60e82ac4ae.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170924/0adca5a1e55c1316673c2b0f22bcc306.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170924/fba1e0ee9e5aedb6202e6b9676450b33.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170924/97ada818d9b73e397eb8eb6c9ab88532.jpg

dimasv
10/05/2017, 05:47 PM
Hi guys probably stupid question but how do i dial the skimmer? Its been running full gate valve open for about 2 weeks. First question is what are the air intakes on photo for? Second how do i dial skimmer with gate valve. And third why my foam is not reaching to the top is that because water clean? Thanks for your help

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171005/748a4713979883f3e32e15de9c15557b.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171005/b49f958d5f6867044c13ce0b636f9caa.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171005/9f66adbaf3a6e1594692b99532a42c58.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

JamesHolt
10/05/2017, 06:08 PM
Those intakes are silencers , keeps the noise down..
To dial it in you just start closing the valve a tiny bit at a time.. Go slow it may take a few days to find its happy spot, then when you start adding fish you will be tweaking it some more...

dimasv
10/12/2017, 12:05 PM
Playing with a new toy

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171012/f5ecf80f0e34704851f49d9b3e6415d0.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171012/9872dd0fe70db07b574bebf0f3fcebe4.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

dimasv
10/14/2017, 04:22 PM
Bought this pump to try for my qt

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171014/c9bc592b04ea622c8a6b758c8c653753.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171014/4ad02608deabe7dd0ed4427316d6d6b4.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

dimasv
10/14/2017, 04:23 PM
My qt setup is almost ready

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171014/ca740aa0987814371f1127f74e12fb3e.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171014/6cdbe529e6beffe9a1b55ec8373eec92.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Jmason95
10/16/2017, 11:48 AM
Saw your post in the Kessil AP700 thread about lighting - thought I would post here my thoughts instead of entering into a discussion in that thread.

You asked which lighting people prefer - Kessil AP700, Hydras or Radions. I've owned all three.

First I would ask what type of coral you plan on keeping. I wouldn't use the Kessil for SPS. Currently I have an SPS tank with Radions and a 10 gallon LPS/softie tank with a Kessil A80.

I love the look Kessil's produce (AP700, 360's or A80, they all produce the same light/shimmer), but the thing I did not like about the AP700 (which holds true for all the Kessil lights) is that they come off a bit dull - the tank won't appear bright unless you run the spectrum with more white. Also, the AP700 will not allow you to slowly mix or blend the spectrums as you change colors. Unless there has been a change in the programing of the lights, the AP700 will just "click" over to the next color if you program the lights to change spectrums throughout the day.

Now, if you get Kessil A360's, you can buy the spectral controller and it will properly blend the spectrums as they change colors. It looks a lot better than the AP700, and the actual light and shimmer is the same as AP700. Make sense?

If you like Kessil, and you don't plan on keeping SPS (Montipora's will probably do fine), I would use A360's with the spectral controller. I think the Kessil out of all three LED lights looks the nicest and gives the best looking natural shimmer.

The Hydra and Radions look very similar - you'll be able to independently control each color channel, but you'll find that you need to run the Reds and Greens lower, whites low and blues high.
The Hyrda aren't as bright as the Radions (unless you run the whites higher). The Radion G4's are bright. I run a pretty blue spectrum and the whole tank is really bright. There is a bit of a "disco ball" affect you hear people talking about, but's I don't think it's bad or really that noticeable. I still really like my Radions.

Hopefully this gives you an idea of what each light has to offer.

dimasv
10/16/2017, 12:32 PM
Saw your post in the Kessil AP700 thread about lighting - thought I would post here my thoughts instead of entering into a discussion in that thread.

You asked which lighting people prefer - Kessil AP700, Hydras or Radions. I've owned all three.

First I would ask what type of coral you plan on keeping. I wouldn't use the Kessil for SPS. Currently I have an SPS tank with Radions and a 10 gallon LPS/softie tank with a Kessil A80.

I love the look Kessil's produce (AP700, 360's or A80, they all produce the same light/shimmer), but the thing I did not like about the AP700 (which holds true for all the Kessil lights) is that they come off a bit dull - the tank won't appear bright unless you run the spectrum with more white. Also, the AP700 will not allow you to slowly mix or blend the spectrums as you change colors. Unless there has been a change in the programing of the lights, the AP700 will just "click" over to the next color if you program the lights to change spectrums throughout the day.

Now, if you get Kessil A360's, you can buy the spectral controller and it will properly blend the spectrums as they change colors. It looks a lot better than the AP700, and the actual light and shimmer is the same as AP700. Make sense?

If you like Kessil, and you don't plan on keeping SPS (Monitpora's will probably do fine), I would use A360's with the spectral controller. I think the Kessil out of all three LED lights looks the nicest and gives the best looking natural shimmer.

The Hydra and Radions look very similar - you'll be able to independently control each color channel, but you'll find that you need to run the Reds and Greens lower, whites low and blues high.
The Hyrda aren't as bright as the Radions (unless you run the whites higher). The Radion G4's are bright. I run a pretty blue spectrum and the whole tank is really bright. There is a bit of a "disco ball" affect you hear people talking about, but's I don't think it's bad or really that noticeable. I still really like my Radions.

Hopefully this gives you an idea of what each light has to offer.

Thanks for your help. I have never had any SPS so yes my plan is in future to learn and actually have some of them and I would like my light to support it.

Is that really not a good light for SPS corals ? I heard that people dont even run the lights 100% of power, why would that not be enough ? I can go with radion but dont like that disco effect I see on others pictures. Plus I dont need any controller more to buy. For my tank I guess I would need 3 units and it comes to much more money :-(

Jmason95
10/16/2017, 01:45 PM
Thanks for your help. I have never had any SPS so yes my plan is in future to learn and actually have some of them and I would like my light to support it.

Is that really not a good light for SPS corals ? I heard that people dont even run the lights 100% of power, why would that not be enough ? I can go with radion but dont like that disco effect I see on others pictures. Plus I dont need any controller more to buy. For my tank I guess I would need 3 units and it comes to much more money :-(

It's not the power of the light that's the issue, it's about the spread of even light with SPS. The Radion produces a better more even spread which is why it's more popular with SPS keepers.

You can always do Kessil, and add T5's later on if needed. I had my AP700 with T5s.