PDA

View Full Version : speedy 230 watt


Darrell Brady
04/30/2017, 11:50 AM
need a dimension from the center of out put to the end of the input. cant seem to find it anywhere.

Thanks ,Darrell

slief
04/30/2017, 01:28 PM
It's 4" from the center of the output to the front of the union bushing that the PVC pipe connects to. The bushing is about 1.2" deep.
http://i390.photobucket.com/albums/oo347/shleif/Tanks/IMG_5154_zps9f2d6hvc.jpg

Darrell Brady
04/30/2017, 04:40 PM
I only have 41/2 inches clearance could that union be token off and add a flat strainer

slief
04/30/2017, 10:07 PM
I only have 41/2 inches clearance could that union be token off and add a flat strainer

If you are running it internally, remove the union and don't even bother with a strainer unless you feel you really need one because of critters in your sump. You will save almost 2". I don't run strainers on any of my pumps though my closed loop does have one to prevent fish and snails from getting sucked into the intake. I have an RD3 80 on one of my tanks internally with no strainer and my RD3 230 has no strainer on the intake where the bulkhead plumbs into my refugium.

ReefClownMIA
04/30/2017, 10:10 PM
If you require additional clearance, you could even remove the entire unction fitting, by carefully removing it from the pump head. Then if crafty you could make a strainer if needed ..

slief
04/30/2017, 10:23 PM
If you require additional clearance, you could even remove the entire unction fitting, by carefully removing it from the pump head. Then if crafty you could make a strainer if needed ..

What Marco is trying to say is that the the male threaded part that the union threads onto actually threads into the pump cover/volute. It's essentially a double male fitting. You could in theory remove the entire male fitting and be left with the flat face of the pump cover with a big threaded hole in the center. If you were to remove the male threaded part from the pump face, you would be looking at about 1" (I think) from the center of the output to the face of the pump. I would however recommend leaving that in because intake fitting is cnc machined or optimal flow into the pump and the thread on the intake (if intake is unthreaded from the volute) may cause cavitation and would certainly be more likely to suck air in from the waters surface. If you just remove the union from the face of the pump, you will be left with about 3" from the center of the output to the face of the intake.

For reference, this is what the volute looks like with the male fitting unthreaded from the face of the pump. Again, I would suggest leaving the male part that the union threads onto in the pump because it's machined to improve the pumps performance. Removing the union itself will save plenty of space and won't hamper performance.
http://i390.photobucket.com/albums/oo347/shleif/Tanks/IMG_5167_zpsyuxfyql7.jpg

http://i390.photobucket.com/albums/oo347/shleif/Tanks/IMG_5166_zpsbwcb1l2b.jpg

Darrell Brady
05/02/2017, 10:09 AM
I believed I have dicided I will just go ahead an re plump everything and use one of the flat strainers. that said which pump should I use it will feed 225 tank 50 sump 40 refugium along with 3 reactors I'm leaning towards the 230 but wandering if the 150 would be enough. also like the thought I can control it with the ghl.

Darrell Brady
05/02/2017, 10:12 AM
thanks for all the insight

slief
05/02/2017, 12:11 PM
I believed I have dicided I will just go ahead an re plump everything and use one of the flat strainers. that said which pump should I use it will feed 225 tank 50 sump 40 refugium along with 3 reactors I'm leaning towards the 230 but wandering if the 150 would be enough. also like the thought I can control it with the ghl.

You could go either way but if your head pressure is low, the 230 will be overkill. I run a 230 for my return. It feeds my 480g display, 2 media reactors, a 60 gallon display fuge, a 40 gallon frag tank and does it all at 150 watts. The RD3 150 uses the same motor but has a different volute and impeller as well as a smaller power supply in the controller. Both are great pumps and I am sure the 150 would be plenty powerful. On the flip side, the cost delta between the two is minimal so you would in theory be running the 230 at a lower percentage relative to it's overall power.

swannking
09/16/2017, 07:35 PM
How come the outlet on my 230W is on the other side? I drilled my new sump to accommodate the configuration which is the opposite of my old reeflo or most other pump for that matter.

slief
09/16/2017, 07:55 PM
How come the outlet on my 230W is on the other side? I drilled my new sump to accommodate the configuration which is the opposite of my old reeflo or most other pump for that matter.

I had Reeflo pumps to which my RD3's replaced. I am pretty sure it has to do with the direction the pumps impeller rotates.

swannking
09/16/2017, 08:15 PM
So if I need to replace my pump with a new one, is that an option since the new pumps on the website have the different configuration than mine. If not, I will have to change the plumbing again.

slief
09/16/2017, 08:26 PM
So if I need to replace my pump with a new one, is that an option since the new pumps on the website have the different configuration than mine. If not, I will have to change the plumbing again.

All RD3's have the output on the left side of the volute when viewed from the front of the pump. Not sure what you are seeing that is different than yours. Your output is on the left just like those on the website. If you are seeing something different than me, please post a link because I just went though the website and verified the images show the output on the left side.

Here is a picture I took when I got my RD3 230's a few years ago.I took this for comparison as I had a Superdart Gold and Hammerhead Gold on my system at the time.. The output hasn't changed and isn't going to change anytime soon.
http://i390.photobucket.com/albums/oo347/shleif/Pumps/image_zps7zwezfc8.jpg

http://i390.photobucket.com/albums/oo347/shleif/Pumps/image_zpsklcfyl0p.jpg

swannking
09/16/2017, 08:38 PM
I am sorry. I have mistaken the pic on my user manual.
I just checked my actual pump and it has the config as you stated.

slief
09/16/2017, 09:07 PM
I am sorry. I have mistaken the pic on my user manual.
I just checked my actual pump and it has the config as you stated.

Strange.. I never noticed those pictures in the manual. They must have reversed the images when putting the manual together.

xabo
10/17/2017, 04:00 PM
If you are running it internally, remove the union and don't even bother with a strainer unless you feel you really need one because of critters in your sump. You will save almost 2". I don't run strainers on any of my pumps though my closed loop does have one to prevent fish and snails from getting sucked into the intake. I have an RD3 80 on one of my tanks internally with no strainer and my RD3 230 has no strainer on the intake where the bulkhead plumbs into my refugium.


Can you elaborate on the strainer? Type, material etc. Thanks

slief
10/17/2017, 06:02 PM
Can you elaborate on the strainer? Type, material etc. Thanks

The intake strainers are titanium with machined PVC ends.
This is the one for the RD3 230.
https://royalexclusiv.com/Accessories/Slot-pipes-split-tubes-protection-for-delivery-pumps/slot-pipe-split-tube-HYBRID-Titan-PVC-O-63mm::876.html

xabo
10/18/2017, 07:42 AM
Thanks.......