PDA

View Full Version : Managing Water Changes...

Vincero
05/03/2017, 01:25 AM
Hi,

I'm a complete beginner, currently trying to wrap my head around the many aspects involved in making a successful start to this hobby!

I'm intending to start my journey with an Aqua Nano 40 tank. After reading around, I have a better understanding of what I need to do to modify this tank for a successful saltwater set up. (I'd like to keep corals and eventually, fish).

However, one thing I haven't given enough thought to is managing water changes. I know that for a small tank like this they need to be performed (at least) weekly. A 25% change on this tank amounts to 10 liters.

I'm planning to mix my own saltwater and store it, but I'd like someone more knowledgeable to tell me if my plan looks viable. So... here it goes:

Essentially, I'd like to mix up 40 liters of saltwater in a big plastic tub and then siphon it evenly into 4 10 liter buckets with airtight lids. That way, I'd have 4 weeks worth of water changes. When I need the water, I'd recheck the salinity and bring it to tank temperature in the buckets before performing the water change...

Is this viable or am I missing something here? -- And if it is okay, I'm a little unsure what size powerhead I should use to help mix 40 liters of salt water (or more!) in one go.

Any suggestions / advice would be much appreciated. Sorry if these are silly questions...

evokid511
05/03/2017, 07:09 AM
i have never been a fan of mixing my own water, so if at all possible and you have a local store you can get premixed or natural saltwater that would be best... and at first you may want to do weekly water changes but after your tank is a little more established twice a month would be more sufficient... now as far as storage goes, i just keep a small powerhead in my buckets but i never store water for more then two weeks tops

twitchy
05/03/2017, 07:44 AM