PDA

View Full Version : My Tank Thread (Take3) ★Total AUTOMATION★ DIY Doser, Sump, AlgaeScrubber, WaterChnges

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Wally.B
05/11/2017, 01:59 AM
Hello my name is Wally and I'm starting a new tank thread.

I'm no expert, since you never are.... but I've learned a lot over 20 years in this wonderful Hobby!!

This reason for this fresh start, is I'm restarting one of my two tanks.

Not sure where this journey will take me, but I'll start by sharing my next phase of Tank Automation, which is a Custom DIY Aurdino Based Doser/Controller.

LET ME START WITH A QUICK INTRO OVERVIEW before I start on this specific tank Thread, and AUTOMATION.

I have two tanks.

The first tank below... (WHICH THIS THREAD IS NOT ABOUT) is a 15 years old, 100 Gallon Mixed Coral Tank, that is in our Family kitchen on first floor (Directly above sump room).

https://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2878/32807727454_991c91317c_c.jpg

SPECIAL NOTE: All Photos in this Thread are Stored and Hosted on Flickr

The link to Photo above and all other Photos is here https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/.

As per Flickr 3 Party Hosting Policy:

Link back to Flickr when you post your Flickr content elsewhere.
Flickr makes it possible to post content hosted on Flickr to other web sites.
Pages on other web sites that display content hosted on flickr.com must provide a link from each photo or video back to its page on Flickr.
This provides a way to get more information about the content and the photographer.

I won't get into much detail about this tank, since for some reason, it runs on it own.
I figure it's just maturity, and I've done everything wrong over the years, and have run out of things to break.

I think one thing I did right was building a custom lighting setup (Kessil, T5, LED), that's ideal for the low-medium lighting requirement of the corals.
I run lighting very low, which keeps algae, Cyano in check. Best fish I ever added was a Algae Blenny.