PDA

View Full Version : Lighting Wattage Question

Adamc1303
05/27/2017, 11:35 PM
I currently run MH & T5's. My setup is 2 x 400 W Mogul MH and 6 x 39W t5's. All together thats 1,034 watts of lighting. I see on my apex that the MH pull about 368W of power. Is it accurate to use 1,034 watts as the amount of power the fixture draws when comparing to other setups? Meaning if I were to go with a 10 x 80W T5 fixture would it be 1,034 Vs. 800 watts or is it more complicated then that? I ask because I do see that the MH pull less power when I look at my apex and I would think that volts and other factors effect this as well.

Thanks,

Adam

Ron Reefman
05/28/2017, 06:00 AM
I'm no electrical expert, but I think it's going to depend on the power supply/ballast/driver and the bulbs. They are all a bit different so exact numbers should be taken with a grain of salt.

And lighting wattage is good info if you are concerned with electricity usage. But if you are using it to compare how much light is being delivered to the water, it's a VERY old school approach and almost useless when comparing between MH to t5 or leds. They are all very different.

You can get a much better comparison by getting PAR readings. Light photons are light photons whether they are produced by MH, t5 or leds and that's what a PAR meter counts.

Adamc1303
05/28/2017, 09:58 AM
Thanks! I am more concerned with energy consumption.

Ron Reefman
05/28/2017, 03:07 PM
Glad to hear it. Good luck.

jda
05/28/2017, 07:20 PM
There is overhead on each ballast or driver. Factor in 10% for magnetic ballasts a rough estimate, IME Electronic are usually more at spec, but still have overhead of a bit and usually put less power to the bulb. LED and T5 power supplies, drivers and ballasts have overhead too. There is a +/- threshold that any electronic device can operate at - lights are no different, so 368W is probably in range, especially if on electronic ballasts.