PDA

View Full Version : Help

jtryan01
06/05/2017, 05:23 PM
I have an 80 gallon reef tank with live rock, a sump tank with two protein skimmers. My fish include: Yellow tang, 2 bar goby, 2 clownfish, damsel, long nosed hawk
My tank was established 20 months ago. The corals I have or had until I lost them are: Hammer Coral (dead), Duncan (dead), Flower Pot (dying),
I also have my tank maintained every other week. My water varies a little, between 78 to 81 – the fish store thinks I am losing everything because of the temperature. They want to sell me a chiller. HELP?
My latest readings were:
Calcium – 470
Magnesium – 1410
Salinity – 1.25
Nitrate – 25
Alkalinity – 10.9

These were the tests from 10 days ago. I have since lost my Duncan. Any advice would be great.

scuzy
06/05/2017, 05:43 PM
Check for chloramine in your water.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Gladmaker
06/05/2017, 06:40 PM
I'm not an expert but nitrate at 25 is high for corals. 81 for temp is on the high side, but I doubt it's responsible for death in itself, but in combination with other issues may cause additional problems. I'm not sure you need a chiller as 78 is not bad. I had a glass lid on my 70 gal and the temp went to 82 with room temp at 75. I'm running 2 wave pumps, a hob skimmer with pump in tank, a refuguim with pump in tank an LED light and a 2 bulb HO florescent lamp. All those generate a lot of heat. I took off the lid and the temp dropped 3 or 4 degrees. I have more evaporation so I'm using more top off water. Another step other than a chiller would be a fan. I was going to do that before I decided to remove the lid. I think the first thing you should work on is to reduce nitrate. There are several methods to do that. You don't show phosphate, but I would guess it's high also.

jtryan01
06/05/2017, 07:37 PM
I have been running a fan for several weeks. Phosphates were at zero. I'm so perplexed.

Bma1972
06/05/2017, 08:52 PM