PDA

View Full Version : Abyzz vs Royal Exclusiv

AZRippster
06/09/2017, 07:36 AM
I'm getting ready for a rebuild on my 450G and looking at going with a high quality DC pump. I'm curious if anyone has had any experience with either of these pump manufacturers over several years of use? Since they are both a fair investment, I don't want to make a mistake.

One thing quickly stands out is the Abyzz includes a 10 year warranty whereas the Royal Exclusiv is 2 year.

At this point I'm not really interested in any of the Chinese manufactured DC pumps.

Any input would be greatly appreciated regarding these two pump manufacturers.

Thanks

mfinn
06/09/2017, 01:30 PM
I won't be much help to you as I am new to the Red Dragon 3 pumps.
I just installed a RD3 150 watt as my closed loop pump, and a RD3 80 watt as my return pump. The RD3 150 watt has been running for a couple weeks and the RD3 80 watt about a week.
Both pumps are about as quiet as you could hope for.
Seem really solid, built tough.
Customer support seems to be very responsive and fast. ( questions, not problems)

jporter
06/09/2017, 03:21 PM
I have an RD3 50 on my BK skimmer and RD3 80 on the return. I will never buy another brand pump. Until you try one you won't believe how silent and vibration free they are. Plus the RE support is top notch. JP

AZRippster
06/09/2017, 04:52 PM
Thanks a bunch for the replies. I'm sure the Abyzz are silent too. I've read other forums in the past that rave the Abyzz but was curious how they compare to the Red Dragon. It's just the crappy warranty that Royal Exclusiv offer on their RD vs the Abyzz that has me concerned. Hopefully others will chime in with their experiences. Once, again, thanks!

Bazjones
06/09/2017, 04:56 PM
After looking at a RD3 80w and a Abyzz A200 I purchased the Abyzz pump.

Two weeks later I sold the pump on eBay.