PDA

View Full Version : Cupramine vs Paraguard

pacificdiver
06/09/2017, 07:06 PM
I lost a small ocellaris that I purchased online (from a reputable supplier) to presumed velvet, a few days into TTM. Unfortunately, since it looked very healthy when it arrived, it was housed with a small yellow tang, which still shows no signs of illness and is eating well.

At this point, I would like to do some sort of preventative treatment, but I'm hesitant to do Cupramine, as I've never used copper before. I also have Paraguard, but my question is, is that going to be as effective in preventing velvet (or brookynella?) from becoming a problem?

If Cupramine is more of a "guarantee," I'd be willing to try it, but it seems like Paraguard is more user-friendly, so I'm having trouble deciding between them. If there were active signs of infection, I'd be ready to start copper, but since he's appearing healthy, am I wrong in thinking that a gentler treatment might be the better option?

Thanks in advance...

JustinM
06/09/2017, 09:22 PM
I have never used paraguard but from my understanding it is effective on all ectoparasites. It can be used as a dip or in a hospital tank.

Cupramine is also effective for ectoparasites.

Paraguard is aldehyde based vs ionic copper for cupramine. I personally feel more comfortable with cupramine but may try out paraguard on some new fish eventually. Hope this helps

somebloke
06/09/2017, 11:43 PM
I lost a small ocellaris that I purchased online (from a reputable supplier) to presumed velvet, a few days into TTM. Unfortunately, since it looked very healthy when it arrived, it was housed with a small yellow tang, which still shows no signs of illness and is eating well.

At this point, I would like to do some sort of preventative treatment, but I'm hesitant to do Cupramine, as I've never used copper before. I also have Paraguard, but my question is, is that going to be as effective in preventing velvet (or brookynella?) from becoming a problem?