PDA

View Full Version : Building a custom home & built in vs free standing tank?

fbskiracer
06/14/2017, 01:20 PM
We are in the process of designing and building our new home in Upstate NY, outside of Syracuse.

I'm relatively new to saltwater aquariums, although I've helped with my siblings, but I haven't been in a stable living situation to build my own. Coincidentally I started putting money in my tank fund 8 years ago and the time has finally come. I'm planning pay for service assistance for the first year or so basically due to the demands of my new job and to make sure I don't mess anything up. The goal is to do a 2-300 gallon tank (I think).

My question is, should we plan to build the tank into the house or install it freestanding.

If built in, my goal would be to put it in the wall between the living room and family room so you could see it on both sides. Hopefully we can design it so the tank could be removed and the molding replaced (relatively painlessly) if we ever sell.

If the architect can make it work without a header there, I could put a freestanding tank in the same place with a little less style.

Either way I could have the option of plumbing the sump/fuge underneath or in the basement if it is worth the effort and space.

Any and all guidance is appreciated.

ktownhero
06/14/2017, 01:43 PM
If you are going to pay for assistance, I would have the LFS you intend to hire involved in the planning. It's hard to make any recommendations without seeing the home.

That said, just in the abstract I think the room-divider tank is by far the nicer option. And plumbing it to the basement is great, especially if you have drainage down there.

Zalick
06/14/2017, 02:07 PM
Plumbed to basement if the basement is easily accessible. Room divider is a great option, but so is free standing peninsula (meaning not backed up against a wall)