PDA

View Full Version : Recommend Me A Powerhead

Nick30G
06/19/2017, 08:43 PM
I was wondering if you guys could recommend me a powerhead for my first reef tank coming up here in a few weeks! My tank is a 37 Gallon (30Lx12.5Wx24T) with a 10 gallon sump. I would like to keep LPS and Soft Corals. I am really considering the Maxspect Gyre XF130, but this option is quite expensive ($216). I dont think i want a Vortec MP-Series powerhead as those are expensive and dont seem to last long. What kind of flow would i be needing (GPH) would I need around for LPS and Softies? Hope you guys can help me out, appericate the help as i set up my very first reef tank!

gffpm1247
06/19/2017, 08:54 PM
I just bought a coral box QP-9. It wasn't expensive at all. It has six different modes and a very wide range of flow. I am a newbie to all this but so far I like it. I only paid around $65.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

jubei2006
06/19/2017, 08:54 PM
Tune nanostream, korralia, vortex mp10. Need to keep all powerheads clean to maintain function. Are you running a sump? Would also be getting flow from the return to create gyre or random flow depending on placement.

bif24701
06/19/2017, 08:58 PM
Hey you go, flat out best pump for 55$. Get two if you don't think it will do it. Not controllable but effective, efficient, and small.

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/tunze-turbelle-nanostream-6025.html

homer1475
06/20/2017, 03:48 AM
Vortech MP10 all the way. Yes they are expensive, but there is no other pump on the market that pushes water like these pumps.

On the cheaper end, jebao pp-4. Not quite as nice or long lasting as a vortech, but a decent pump.

FWIW I would be looking at getting 2 pumps. One pump just doesn't create that random flow your looking for. At least with 2 pumps you can crash the waves together, or have them fire off at different times creating that nice chaotic flow your looking for.

mcgyvr
06/20/2017, 04:40 AM