PDA

View Full Version : 2x4 ????????

mendel
07/03/2017, 07:01 PM
bs"d

i'm new to the diy thing, and im currently building an aquarium stand - following the build of "the king of diy" on youtube- and some of my 2x4s are wider then 4 ( or narower - the point is that they are different sizes) and therefor i cant fit the pieces into place! what do i do?
also they seem to be warped! is that normal? will the weight of the tank flatten it?

Gladmaker
07/03/2017, 07:14 PM
A new 2x4 actually measures 1 1/2" x 3 1/2". Old lumber could be actually 2" x 4". Newer could be 1 3/4" x 3 3/4". It's best that all you use measure the same so you won't have to cut to fit. I would not depend on the tank to flatten the lumber. The platform needs to be perfectly flat and level otherwise you could put stress on the tank and cause it to leak.

ca1ore
07/03/2017, 07:50 PM
Use new studs. Go to HD, or equivalent, and pick out kiln dried pieces that are not warped.

davocean
07/03/2017, 08:32 PM
Yeah if you have not cut them just return to HD, let someone who's just building something less critical take those, and start w/ nice straight boards, and store them properly, laid flat on a couple sticker boards is what I like to do, not in direct sun( if there is any moisture at all they tend to twist cup or warp in sun, and agree I prefer kiln dried too for that reason)
After I've made cuts and put together I seal it right away, and again not in direct sunlight.

NanoReefWanabe
07/03/2017, 09:19 PM
Unless you are buying wood at a mill , I am pretty sure all the word you buy at any hardware store is kiln dried

Clowning_Around
07/03/2017, 09:48 PM