PDA

View Full Version : What is on my clowns?!


ClownReef®
07/16/2017, 06:37 AM
Ive had this pair for over a year. They share their tank with a pygmy angel, a brittle star, and a purple reef lobster and a handful of RBTAs. I havent added anything in a very very very very long time.

They seem fine, they eat normally, they act normal...but, whats on them!?!?!?!

It looks like fine grains of salt (ich?) and it just started two days ago. I have zero clue where it came from since I havent added anything. My main display is 5 feet away and I havent added anything in a long time. Im stunned.

Could it be just sand that got stuck to them??


https://vimeo.com/225733125

Ive been in the hobby for over 15 years. I should know if its brook, or ich, or something else but i really dont..

Help!

Mr. Eel
07/16/2017, 08:19 AM
i think it looks like ich personaly ( do coper treatements unless u have inverts )

ClownReef®
07/16/2017, 08:32 AM
Id do TTM for ich..

Im more concerned about how and when it got into my system. It is virtually impossible. It cant be ich..

j.falk
07/17/2017, 06:00 AM
Is your heater working properly? If the temperature drops that can cause an ich outbreak.

ClownReef®
07/17/2017, 07:28 AM
Even if ich isnt present in the system?

jah hoeva
07/17/2017, 08:01 AM
Ich has to be present in the system for the fish to get it.

j.falk
07/17/2017, 09:58 AM
You didn't answer my question about the heater...

My understanding has always been that ich can always be present but doesn't harm your fish until given the right conditions to do so.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1482764

dweber618
07/17/2017, 10:53 AM
You didn't answer my question about the heater...

My understanding has always been that ich can always be present but doesn't harm your fish until given the right conditions to do so.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1482764

Incorrect - if you properly quarantine fish it is possible for a system to not have ich. Ich is a parasite, if you have proper QT and started a new tank and/or left it fallow for the parasite to die off - you CAN have a tank with NO ich.

ClownReef®
07/19/2017, 09:32 AM
It cant be ich. It has been pristine for a very long time.

j.falk
07/19/2017, 03:51 PM
It cant be ich. It has been pristine for a very long time.

Then why worry about it? By that statement, it doesn't sound like there could possibly be anything wrong with them.