PDA

View Full Version : Quarantine Tank, brown algae issue


Vdubin00
07/24/2017, 05:17 PM
Hey everyone , this has probably been asked before but I can't seem to find a solid conclusion ,, I have a 10g QT setup that has a rock on GSP that I bought , the rock was crawling with hitchhikers that I didn't want in my display , so I dipped with Bauer advanced ,, and everything fell off the coral has been doing good full extension but now almost daily I'm getting a film of brown algae on the glass my light isn't over powered , it's on for about 9 hrs a day , and I did a 50% WC last week https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170724/41704edeba5f417928e3620c85204766.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170724/75ae6b420dbe90cfea2295f204deffb3.jpg
What could be causing this ?? Is it just what happens or is there something funky on the rock ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bertoni
07/24/2017, 05:54 PM
I think it's going to be hard to keep algae films like that under control in a quarantine tank. As long as the coral isn't being covered, I wouldn't worry much. Doing more water changes might help or might make the problem worse. Most salt products have some ammonia in them as a contaminant, and that ammonia can fuel algal growth. I suppose you could try a bit of GFO, if you have some handy, but I'm not sure how much it'll help.

Mishri
07/25/2017, 11:49 AM
that's to be expected, every aquarium gets that.. unless you have some competing algae/nutrient removal that does a better job than I, and most others, managed. you can wipe it off the glass as often as you want.. wont cause problems, just doesn't look great. It's the reason why most reefkeepers clean algae off the glass daily... and why magnetic solutions were made in the first place :)

Vdubin00
07/25/2017, 12:38 PM
Ok , so that qt tank has been up and running for over a month with no signs of the algae , as soon as I added the coral 3 weeks later boom there it is , is there a way to get all the nutrients off and out before I put it in my main display ?? I use the same salt In that QT as in my main, Red Sea coral pro, and my display doesn't look like that !!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mishri
07/25/2017, 04:49 PM
what do you currently have in your display? I have a tank with no algae and no nutrient export.. but it's because I have no lights on it...

bertoni
07/25/2017, 05:15 PM
If you want to remove nutrients, you could use some GFO. That might help, and it's easy to try. In this case, some activated carbon might help, too. The live rock came with some die-off and other nutrients, so an algal bloom is normal in this situation.

Vdubin00
07/25/2017, 08:38 PM
what do you currently have in your display? I have a tank with no algae and no nutrient export.. but it's because I have no lights on it...



Well I'm just getting out of my initial cycle I have the tiniest bit of hair algae but not this brown stuff , lights on my display are running 12 hrs a day ,


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Vdubin00
07/25/2017, 08:39 PM
If you want to remove nutrients, you could use some GFO. That might help, and it's easy to try. In this case, some activated carbon might help, too. The live rock came with some die-off and other nutrients, so an algal bloom is normal in this situation.



Thanks bertoni !! I think I'll give that a try !!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Vdubin00
07/25/2017, 08:39 PM
You guys are awesome thanks for the input !! Hey


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bertoni
07/25/2017, 10:02 PM
You're welcome. Good luck!