PDA

View Full Version : Work bench

SFish
07/25/2017, 04:05 AM
Any plans or suggestions for making a work bench. I cut a lot of PVC and acrylic.

Rtdrumz
07/25/2017, 06:30 AM
I built aomething similar to this. Mine has drawers for tools , screws, sanpaper, brushes, etc... https://youtu.be/afBsEVcOCD0

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Lsufan
07/25/2017, 08:08 PM
Depends how big u want it & how good u want it to look. The cheapest way would be a 2 by 4 frame with a piece of plywood on top. It would essentially be the same as rocketengineers stand design here on rc.

ca1ore
07/25/2017, 09:44 PM
Tons of plans online. I'm a woodworker, I needed a work table that was flat and coplanar, so I made a plywood torsion bid as my base with a plywood top surface. Don't have to get that fancy though.

WLachnit
07/25/2017, 10:14 PM
Also a woodworker as well. There is nothing like a nice flat workbench. In a pinch you can use a solid core slab door from HD as a top. Not quite as flat and rigid as ca1ore's torsion box top, but certainly much better than a plywood top.

SFish
07/26/2017, 12:47 AM
I'm thinking a miter saw on a bench is the way to go for me.

Clowning_Around
07/26/2017, 10:03 AM
I like my bench out of simple 2x and plywood top. I can even get carried away and drill on top of it and replace the top easily. Aside from which design/type hou go with, I highly recommend a good bench vise. I use mine all the time for any number of tasks. Yoy can pickup a good size one inexpensively from harbor freight

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

der_wille_zur_macht
07/26/2017, 10:05 AM
Besides the slab door, another good source of a cheap top is a seconds or scrapped piece of laminate counter top. It can be had cheap or free, it's fairly flat, and it's dense enough that it is robust if you're doing heavy work on it.

SFish
07/26/2017, 11:36 AM