PDA

View Full Version : Low ammonia level readings

achilles86
08/01/2017, 09:30 AM
Hi, I'm new to reef central although I've had my tank for quite a few years, 8 to be exact. I started with a 55g, 4 years ago I switched it out to a shallow reef and four weeks ago, but due to leaks in two separate areas of the tank, I had to replace to a 75g which I had still in its box. I used basically everything I had in the tank, except for the substrate, which I replace from crush coral to a sand bed. Added more live rock that literally went from one tank to mine. All the fish seemed to love it and the corals as well. I got a small episode of diatom but it's already going away. Also a bit of cyano, but it doesn't bother me since the cleaning crew is doing a very good job.

I got a little excited and have been adding fish since I was low on stock. Now, I tested parameters this past Sunday and all the parameters were good except for Ammonia, which shows I'd say .15 and Phosphates which is also near zero. I don't mind low levels of phosphates but the ammonia get's me cranky because before the upgrade the test (API) would be so yellow. When doing the tank replacement, I added ATM's Colony treatment. I was feeding the fish two times a day, I'm moving down to once a day, to see if it makes any changes. Although the fish look better than ever and very active. Maybe the tank is adjusting to the change and stock level? Any recommendations? Not doing high percentage water changes until the system settles down a bit. The overall system is around 110 gallons, since I use a 55g as a sump. Thanks in advance!

*NOTE* Not all the new fish where brought into tank at the same time, two weeks in between.

Stock fish with their current size:
2- Clownfish
3- Green Chromis S
1- Yellow Tang M/L
1- Blue Tang S/M
1- Yellow eye Tang S/M
1- Naso Tang L - New
1- Yellow Fox Face S - New
1- Bangai Cardenal S - New
1- Royal Grama M
1- Stigmata Blenny S - New
1- Orange Spot Goby S - New