PDA

View Full Version : Cracked Tank

Sjoerd
08/07/2017, 12:56 PM
Hi,

My son has a marine tank and prompted my interest in marine fish. I am new to marine fish and decided to have a 960 litre (220G) glass (12mm/ 1/2 inch) tank - fish only - built by a local company. Everything done and installed - 100kg (220 Pound) aragonite sand, natural rock 200kg (440 Pound), added water and salt and started the cycle period. Everything OK for two days but the tank cracked on the bottom glass panel. Fortunately we were at home and drained the tank. Now we wait for the contractor to advise what to do.

We still have to dismantle the tank and see exactly where the tank cracked, determine why the tank cracked and find a remedy.

I am not sure what the contractor will advise and hence my question is - what would be the best option to repair the tank?
The internet offers different opinions but I would like to hear from the forum

Looking forward to hear

Mishri
08/07/2017, 05:44 PM
it looks like your stand is smaller than your tank? that isn't good. it's possible you could silicone the crack.. but I wouldn't trust it. I'd want a whole new bottom pane.

Clowning_Around
08/07/2017, 05:53 PM
Check entire perimeter of tanks base against the stand for gaps, there should be none not even small. If so this is a prime culprit, it creates uneven bearing amd pressure points typically cracking the glass. Also the stand footprint should at a minimum be equal to the tanks footprint. If it had been a side panel that cracked I would likely attribute it to this, and on that note could still occur after you fix the other matter at hand. Gluck, sorry for the crack.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Vinny Kreyling
08/07/2017, 05:57 PM
New Tank + New Stand

Clowning_Around
08/07/2017, 06:41 PM