PDA

View Full Version : New to Reefing, New to sumps, Help.

Joseph_Piquette
08/07/2017, 08:13 PM
Hey reef central, I need some advice on what to do for my first Sump. As said in the title, I am totally new to reefing and I thought the sump was a great place to start. I am a moderate to advanced tropical and Malawi Fishkeeper, but i thought id step it up on the money spending.

Heres the deal. I just bought an API 75 gallon aquarium from Petsmart, which is over twice the size of any tank ive ever had. And now I am faced with the problem of filtering it.

The tank I was thinking of using to make my sump was a 29 gallon Aqueon that i previously used for malawi fish.

Is that about right on the size of the sump, and what layout should i use?

I am planning on staying on a fish only with live rock tank for at least a year and then slowly moving on to a reef

mcgyvr
08/08/2017, 10:20 AM
So many choices/potential answers...
The reason you haven't gotten any responses yet is (I assume) that you have just asked a very big open question and there are a thousand possible answers and all have been covered to death here over and over again.. (but thats what forums are)

You might want to spend some more time learning and narrowing down your choices/options/equipment selection,etc.. then restating your question (or the answer will just come to you because of that..
Do you want a skimmer section, fuge section,etc...? All these questions and more you will want to answer before you start..

IMO a 40b makes an excellent sump..

der_wille_zur_macht
08/08/2017, 07:52 PM
The 29 will be fine as a sump.

If I had to choose a default setup, I'd do a two hole overflow (Herbie style). Set the sump up as a three compartment deal. First compartment is where the drains dump, and houses the skimmer and heater. Make it as small as possible while still big enough to fit the skimmer you choose. Use a single baffle to set the water height near the range required for your skimmer (say, 8").