PDA

View Full Version : To Those Who Have Built Your Own Aquarium Or Sump out of Glass or Acrylic How Has You

JaysLittleOcean
08/09/2017, 05:17 AM
Since we have been in our new home for about a year and I have moved to a new position that provides a more work/life balance I know have the time to build out my new aquarium. Since I will be remodeling the basement for my new home office I decided that maybe I should build my aquarium down there since I want to go big. I also would be proud to build mostly everything myself as I am an engineer both for trade and at heart. I am curious to know what others experiences were in building their own aquariums or sumps out of glass or Acrylic. How did or are your builds fairing? What issues did you run into? What would you have done differently? Would you rather have just paid a professional aquarium builder? What should I really pay close attention to should I decide to go down the DIY path?

mcgyvr
08/09/2017, 05:51 AM
The actual construction of the tanks themselves are best left to the professionals IMO..
You really aren't going to save much if any money and personally I would just sleep better knowing it wasn't something I "got my feet wet on".... Because a failure could get more than your feet wet.. They aren't that hard to build really at all but its just not something I personally want to venture into yet.. And I play an Engineer at work too and am super handy..

But drill glass holes/construct overflow boxes/sump baffles/light mounts/stands,etc... all you want..
Thats what I just did..
I bought an undrilled/untempered tank and another for a sump and did everything else myself..
I feel plenty of accomplishment from that..

JaysLittleOcean
08/09/2017, 06:17 AM
The actual construction of the tanks themselves are best left to the professionals IMO..