PDA

View Full Version : Question about Phosphate Minus in a media reactor


UB400
08/12/2017, 11:02 AM
I just watched the new Zoemix Video from AquaForest. I noticed that the media is "loose" in the media reactor.

I've been using Phosphate Minus for several months now and even though I'm using it in a Media Reactor (Non AF), I've always put the Phosphate minus in a media bag, because the particles are relatively fine.

When I wash the Phosphate Minus prior to use, I wash it out under tap water in a media bag and there is a lot of brown dust and fine particles that get washed out.

Having watched the video, I was wondering whether the "foam filter" can hold back these fine particles or whether they end up in th eAquarium?

Also a request, could you please do a video on Phosphate Minus, I would really like to see how you prepare it i.e. wash it and how much do you wash it out? Or do you just soak it, like you did with the Zeo Mix.

Same goes for the Carbon.

Bill Nye
08/13/2017, 04:12 PM
I've never used phosphate minus but I assume its basically the same as other GFO. When I change gfo I put it in the reactor then run water through it and put the outlet into a bucket till it runs clear. Once all th e fine material is gone it wont make a mess.

Aquaforest
08/16/2017, 02:50 AM
Please do not rinse Phosphate Minus in RODI water – the brown dust is normal, this is active phosphate remover. Rinsing Phosphate Minus lowers its efficiency.

Video of Phosphate Minus will be publishing this week.

Regards,
Aquaforest

madreefer2013
08/30/2017, 11:53 AM
Don't put phosphate minus in bag. This reduces the efficiency. Yes some will end up in the tank.