PDA

View Full Version : Can even low traces of silicates cause diatom blooms?

Lockfish
08/19/2017, 10:53 PM
Hello all, this is my first post though I have read many and have learned a lot from you guys. I have a dilema, I've had my tank running my for two years with basically the same live stock and feeding habits. I do a 20% water change every 2 weeks and change my socks every 3 days. Now, here's where I screwed up. For about 2 months I didn't run my skimmer and changed socks when they were overflowing and did maybe 1 water change. Boom! Inevitable cyano started. Then got back in the game. Slime away and back to routine. I didn't loose anything, no fish no lps and softies is what I have. After a couple weeks diatom starts popping up. Water parameter are perfect I even checked for silicates. I use chemipure elite and purigen and with regular water changes nutrients must be low. I've been running the same r/o on auto top off for over 1 1/2 years can this be the cause of my diatoms? Very minute silicates ? I tested the high range silicates and was untracable. I feed 1 cube of mysis a day and spot feed coral reef roids twice a week. Help! It's been getting worse it's now on 50% of sand bed and a few rocks that don't get much circulation ... hoping for answers.....

bertoni
08/20/2017, 03:18 PM
[welcome]
Diatoms need phosphorus and nitrogen from the water column to grow. Adding a bit of silicate to the water column might encourage more diatoms to grow. A lot of snails will eat diatoms, so they generally aren't a problem. A Trochus or two might make a big difference. How big is the tank?

Dan_P
08/20/2017, 06:54 PM
...Now, here's where I screwed up. For about 2 months I didn't run my skimmer and changed socks when they were overflowing and did maybe 1 water change. Boom! Inevitable cyano started.