PDA

View Full Version : Biocube stand question


gusto1
08/20/2017, 06:43 PM
Hello Everyone,
I'm purchasing a 29 Gallon Biocube without a stand and I didn't want to purchase the stand that comes with it from coralife. I was thinking about getting the Ventura stand from Marineland. The only problem is it's has an open top (it's 24" x 24") do you think if I use a piece of 3/4" plywood (of course paint it black) and put it on top it would hold properly? Should I brace it?

Open to other suggestions as well.....

Please see the stand below.. Thanks

enaldy
08/20/2017, 07:02 PM
Just put some center bracing (I would use at least two to be on the safe side) under the plywood and you will be good.

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

enaldy
08/20/2017, 10:19 PM
Bybyhe way.. also make sure that they are very align.. you don't want too much pressure in one corner of the tank!!

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

gusto1
08/21/2017, 05:45 AM
Thank you, I will cut them evenly, If I go that route.

homer1475
08/21/2017, 05:55 AM
Throw some 3/4 ply on it and be done with it. All your load will be on the vertical panels. The biocube stand has no bracing in it, heck it's even put together with those cam lock screws. 3 solid panels, one door panel, top and bottom panels, thats it. Basically a box.

gusto1
08/21/2017, 10:40 AM
Thank you.. I do see what your saying..

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk