PDA

View Full Version : Question on powerbars


john fidler
08/25/2017, 09:53 AM
Was looking to set up two pb4s to the apex jr. Each pb4 would be powered from separate gfcis. If one gfci trips does the equipment and probes on the other pb4 remain operational?..

jml1149
08/25/2017, 10:03 AM
Yes, the power bars operate independently.

jml1149
08/25/2017, 10:04 AM
*as long as the Apex Jr is not also on the GFCI that tripped.

john fidler
08/25/2017, 02:18 PM
Thanks. By apex jr I assume you mean the display unit?

vhuang168
08/25/2017, 10:53 PM
Depends on if the GFCIs are on the same circuit. If they are, everything downstream from the one that tripped is also dead.

If they are on separate circuits then only that circuit is dead.

jml1149
08/26/2017, 06:48 AM
Depends on if the GFCIs are on the same circuit. If they are, everything downstream from the one that tripped is also dead.

If they are on separate circuits then only that circuit is dead.



This depends on how they were wired. In my garage, the first GFCI is mounted upstream, and all outlets downstream are controlled by it. I did this intentionally.

In my kitchen, I retrofit a GFCI into an outlet and when it trips, only that outlet goes off.

You can test this easily enough with a lamp or hair dryer or something.

jml1149
08/26/2017, 06:51 AM
Thanks. By apex jr I assume you mean the display unit?



The box with the four outlets that says Apex Jr. on it?

Also, it's important to set the FALLBACK conditions here, so if for whatever reason the Apex Jr is tripped off and it loses communication to the EB8s, but you have set the state you wish to default it to.