PDA

View Full Version : Co2 ?


erk419
09/06/2017, 09:54 AM
I'm planning on doing my first saltwater tank soon and I'm doing research on RO/DI units. My question is I have well water that runs through a water softner out of the tap my pH is 7.0 and after it sets for 48 hour without an air stone or anything my pH rises to around 8.4 now does this show that I have high levels of co2 in my water?

Dan_P
09/06/2017, 10:49 AM
Is your pH meter calibrated? A rise from 6 to 7 would make sense but not 7 to 8.4 with CO2 loss.

erk419
09/06/2017, 10:54 AM
I use the API liquid test kit

bertoni
09/06/2017, 05:26 PM
What is the alkalinity of the water out of the well? That's quite a rise.