PDA

View Full Version : How long do you quarantine new fish?

Chris918
09/06/2017, 12:32 PM
Hi,

I quarantine all of my new fish. I usually observe them for several weeks to make sure they are active, eating, and show no signs of disease or parasites. I've never had an actual set time though. How long do you quarantine and am I looking for the right things to ensure my fish are healthy?

Thanks!

allendehl
09/06/2017, 12:57 PM
I'm new in all this but between 4-6 weeks seems to be the norm, from what I've read.

LuizW13
09/06/2017, 02:04 PM
I'm new in all this but between 4-6 weeks seems to be the norm, from what I've read.

yeah, new as well.

I quarantined my fish for about 4 weeks. But it also depends on the type disease the fish has, if any.

Mine just had some tapeworms, so ran Prazipro for about 10 days in two different doses, then Metroplex for about 2 weeks.

Chris918
09/06/2017, 02:19 PM
How long would you say if the fish appear healthy? I'm not seeing any signs of disease at all and all 3 are active, eating, and already gaining some weight.

JustinM
09/06/2017, 02:56 PM
I would say a min of 4 weeks. Some things to just pay attention to though:

Fish scratching off rocks
Rapid breathing
Hanging near the surface
Hiding

You will not always see spots on a fish that is infected. A lot of fish will have ich in their gills and flukes as well. It's not a bad idea to learn how to freshwater dip a fish either. This can confirm if they have flukes and give them relief from other parasites as well.

It is a learning curve to learn how to QT so ask as many questions as you need to. Fish diseases and parasites can make this hobby very frustrating. If you take care of them in the beginning, it will reward you.

JustinM
09/06/2017, 02:58 PM
yeah, new as well.

I quarantined my fish for about 4 weeks. But it also depends on the type disease the fish has, if any.