PDA

View Full Version : Best Controller???

NASAGeek
09/08/2017, 07:36 PM
I've been using Apex for several years.... but lately I've been having a LOT of failures in Apex components. I just had a Powerbar fail....

I'm sufficiently frustrated, I'm thinking of replacing my entire control system. Not a trivial decision, but as wonderful as Apex functionality is... the darn components keep failing on me.

What does everyone else use??

M

Breadman03
09/08/2017, 07:55 PM
Realistically, there's Apex, GHL Profilux and the Digital Aquatics Archon. Tunze has also released a basic controller that bridges the gap between plug in timers and the fancy controllers.

Aquatronica is putting one out that went to beta, then went quiet for some changes from what I heard. There's also the Reef Angel, but I really don't hear much about them anymore.

ETA-I might be thinking of the Vertex Cerebra, not Aquatronica.

Some folks have jumped on board with DIY Arduino controllers, and I've seen one using a PLC.

In my opinion, Apex and GHL are the leaders.

NASAGeek
09/08/2017, 08:02 PM
I am super annoyed... I've invested a LOT in Apex... but reliability is a MUST. Thanks I'll start researching GHL.

d2mini
09/09/2017, 07:12 AM
Thanks I'll start researching GHL.

Apex is a nice system with a lot of good features but GHL is on top when it comes to build quality and reliability. Not just reliability of hardware (we are talking sensitive electronics, parts can go bad), but their software/firmware as well. During your research, try to find any instances of major failures. GHL also goes beyond the reef hobbyist market. You will find GHL in many commercial institutions, freshwater, saltwater, terrariums and outdoor ponds.

fcmatt
09/09/2017, 08:14 AM