PDA

View Full Version : How will the change in Hawaiian law affect the hobby

bobkill
09/08/2017, 09:00 PM
As the title says , I am wondering with the recent change in law in Hawaii, what will the expectations be to the common or average hobbyist ?
No more chevrons?

CoralsAddiction
09/08/2017, 09:56 PM
I'm curious to follow this from the legal standpoint more than aquarium industry effects. This law could be short lived if the fishing industry lobbies hard. It'd be interesting to see if any side will invoke Interstate Commerce clause since the ocean is technically "navigable" and is subject to federal regulation. I'm no expert in maritime law but this legal process should be very interesting to follow.
Potentially competing interests are: burden on interstate commerce vs. state's interest in protecting its resources.
Any maritime lawyers or consitutional law professors on this forum feel free to chime in. Lol

ThRoewer
09/08/2017, 10:17 PM
First off, there was no change in the law. The ruling was that the issuing of the collection permits didn't follow current law.

Also, as of now all issued permits stay valid until they expire. Only new permits or renewals will not be issued (until the proceeding to follow the law are met).

d-man
09/09/2017, 08:37 AM
As the title says , I am wondering with the recent change in law in Hawaii, what will the expectations be to the common or average hobbyist ?
No more chevrons?

Lol, chevrons...

humaguy
09/09/2017, 10:19 AM
Lol, chevrons...

is there a laughing emoji with coffee coming out its nose? there should be..

Derek is a silly goose...funny!

ThRoewer
09/09/2017, 12:44 PM
I don't have much interest in Hawaiian fish, so I don't expect it to affect me much. I am however concerned that this could become a starting point for more to come.

The whole thing is coming from those activists that in their most extreme want to outlaw having pets (and of course farm animals) entirely.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk