PDA

View Full Version : Jebao to apex


Jboone82590
09/13/2017, 09:07 PM
Those of you with the jebaos hooked to youre apex this is for you.
Im wanting to get 4 jebaos for 3 differebt tanks.
I want all 4 to be controlled by my apex.
I cant seem to figure out what ones can be hooked directly to the apex and what ones require the jebao to apex connections.
PLZ HELP!!!!!


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

Cheapreef
09/13/2017, 09:19 PM
As far as I know all Jebao pumps need either the DIY adapter cable mod or This (https://www.reefbreeders.com/shop/jebao-apex-controller-adapter/) If your going to go with 4 pumps you'll need 2 of those.

Jboone82590
09/13/2017, 09:24 PM
As far as I know all Jebao pumps need either the DIY adapter cable mod or This (https://www.reefbreeders.com/shop/jebao-apex-controller-adapter/) If your going to go with 4 pumps you'll need 2 of those.Dang i thought there was one out there rhat did. Thanks.
Do you have any hooked up.
Whts the newest one?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

rwgarrison
09/13/2017, 11:45 PM
It depends. The following is based on what i have read. I haven't verified.

You don't mention if you are looking at pumps or powerheads. For pumps the older models require what cheep reef mentions above. The newer models (dcp) will not work and require the aqlink a1.

For powerheads supposedly the sw models (4 and up) can be connected directly to an apex. You'll need to make the cable, but it's straight forward. I just ordered a couple and will be trying them out this weekend.

Ron

Jboone82590
09/14/2017, 10:03 AM
It depends. The following is based on what i have read. I haven't verified.

You don't mention if you are looking at pumps or powerheads. For pumps the older models require what cheep reef mentions above. The newer models (dcp) will not work and require the aqlink a1.

For powerheads supposedly the sw models (4 and up) can be connected directly to an apex. You'll need to make the cable, but it's straight forward. I just ordered a couple and will be trying them out this weekend.

RonThats what i thought was the SW.
I am looking for both my pumos and the new powerheads.
Ill be ordering the powerveads soon.
I think ill get 2 sw-4s abd 2sw-8s

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

Cheapreef
09/14/2017, 10:05 AM
For powerheads supposedly the sw models (4 and up) can be connected directly to an apex. You'll need to make the cable, but it's straight forward. I just ordered a couple and will be trying them out this weekend.

Ron

Which is exactly what I said in my post. ;) "either the DIY adapter cable mod"

Which is exactly the same as the box I linked to just a bought item instead of a DIY mod, which is this. Jebao harness (https://forum.neptunesystems.com/showthread.php?4567-Torx-s-Jebao-WP-Apex-harness)

Jboone82590
09/14/2017, 10:39 AM
Which is exactly what I said in my post. ;) "either the DIY adapter cable mod"

Which is exactly the same as the box I linked to just a bought item instead of a DIY mod, which is this. Jebao harness (https://forum.neptunesystems.com/showthread.php?4567-Torx-s-Jebao-WP-Apex-harness)Yeah u did. I didint see that lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

Jboone82590
09/14/2017, 10:41 AM
Which is exactly what I said in my post. ;) "either the DIY adapter cable mod"

Which is exactly the same as the box I linked to just a bought item instead of a DIY mod, which is this. Jebao harness (https://forum.neptunesystems.com/showthread.php?4567-Torx-s-Jebao-WP-Apex-harness)I guess he just made it a little easer to understand haha

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

rwgarrison
09/14/2017, 03:08 PM
Which is exactly what I said in my post. ;) "either the DIY adapter cable mod"

Which is exactly the same as the box I linked to just a bought item instead of a DIY mod, which is this. Jebao harness (https://forum.neptunesystems.com/showthread.php?4567-Torx-s-Jebao-WP-Apex-harness)

I was referencing the SWs and not the WPs. The SW's are different and are NOT this harness. No resistors needed. It is literally 2 DC Power connectors to wires on the Ethernet and plugs directly in the Apex variable speed port.

See this video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4UDkkeM5V8

Ron

rwgarrison
09/14/2017, 03:22 PM
Also I'm a little confused by the DIY cable as all it does is change the voltage from 0-10V to 0-5V.

I was under then impression that the WP-40's required a PWM signal (which the Apex does not provide as far as I know) and I thought that was what the purchased adapter referenced above did for you.

What am I missing?

Jboone82590
09/14/2017, 04:23 PM
Also I'm a little confused by the DIY cable as all it does is change the voltage from 0-10V to 0-5V.

I was under then impression that the WP-40's required a PWM signal (which the Apex does not provide as far as I know) and I thought that was what the purchased adapter referenced above did for you.

What am I missing?Its all a little confusing for me lol. Im not very technical tho lol.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

rwgarrison
09/18/2017, 04:49 PM
So I did not have good luck with the direct control using the SW controller. Just plugging in the DC connector (not connected to anything) seemed to break my controller. Very odd. I haven't investigated further. I ordered the Jebao-Apex Controller Adapter (https://www.reefbreeders.com/shop/jebao-apex-controller-adapter) and will go that route instead. In the mean time I'll dig into the SW controller and see if I can figure out what got hosed.

Jboone82590
09/19/2017, 03:32 PM
So I did not have good luck with the direct control using the SW controller. Just plugging in the DC connector (not connected to anything) seemed to break my controller. Very odd. I haven't investigated further. I ordered the Jebao-Apex Controller Adapter (https://www.reefbreeders.com/shop/jebao-apex-controller-adapter) and will go that route instead. In the mean time I'll dig into the SW controller and see if I can figure out what got hosed.So you followed the video and it broke the controller for the powerhead?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

rwgarrison
09/24/2017, 05:48 PM
So you followed the video and it broke the controller for the powerhead?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

Yes. I verified that the cable worked with a multi-meter (i.e. output was 0 10 volts when driven from the apex - and it was not wired backwards). No shorts. And the controller was hosed by simply plugging in the DC connector without the other end connected to anything (i.e. I didn't have it connected to the apex at the time.)

Anyhow the other controller works great. At some point I'll pull apart the sw controller and try to figure out what happened.

Ron

cboberg
09/26/2017, 09:22 PM
I run the power heads and a D.C. Pump direct to my power strip on the Apex. I control them with the jebao controllers but the feed time, on-off controls are through my Apex. The stock jebao controller remembers the settings as you switch it on and off.

SycoCell
09/27/2017, 04:07 PM
I run the adaptor module with my two, SW15 powerheads. Works like a charm.

Jboone82590
10/04/2017, 10:34 AM
I went ahead and went with the jebao to apex mods. Just incase eberyone was wondering.
They work great and i dont have to cut anything lol.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk