PDA

View Full Version : I need advice with a DIY led build

Oliver Giesler
09/14/2017, 12:56 PM
I am new with building led units for tank and in very simple terms I need advice on how to design it,how many leds power supply sizes drivers/timers the electronics side no proplem I understand it,I just dont know where to start.

mcgyvr
09/14/2017, 02:13 PM
I'd suggest you buy one then..
5 years ago building your own made sense.. not so much anymore..

Or start here I guess..
Note that "how many LEDs" I need is the number of 3 watt LEDs
http://www.rapidled.com/led-university-1/

lingwendil
09/14/2017, 03:55 PM
I'd suggest you buy one then..
5 years ago building your own made sense.. not so much anymore..

Well, it's still cheaper to build than to buy, but only if you really know what you're doing... The average guy is probably better off buying something unless he is very specific in his wants/needs, or just has to build it himself for personal reasons, most of the time. I'm a die-hard DIY guy, and can build very high quality lighting at 1/4-1/2 the cost of an "equivalent" commercial offering, and I can do it exactly the way I want, get better (for my desires and needs) features, and use parts that the commercial guys aren't yet (or ever going to be) tooled up to use. Pinching pennies is a terrible idea for a first build unless you really know what you're doing in the first place, and you'll usually end up with something ugly that doesn't work as well as something similar in cost due to you learning throughout the process...

If you really want to build it yourself first though, my best advice is to search the internet for various build threads on DIY Reef LED lighting. Binge on as many build threads as you can, develop a good understanding of the process, costs involved, mistakes others made, etc. Once you've done all that, tally up a list of parts, tools, and then add it all up and see if it's right for you.