PDA

View Full Version : Can't change the name of the TMPx5 on PM2


Jyetman
09/14/2017, 05:58 PM
I'm able to change other probe names but this one why? What am I doing wrong isn't it changed from the apex classic dashboard under configuration > Probe/input setup > Tmpx5 - TmpX5 ? No matter what I put 3 to 5 words it wont work defaults back to the same TmpX5.

Why isn't the outlet slider in the "OFF" or "ON" position also part of the IF statement condition programing? Why only in the "AUTO" position? I can think of plenty of programming situations that could use the "ON" or "OFF" positioning.

vhuang168
09/14/2017, 06:59 PM
How many custom names do you have already?

Give an example of the on/off.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

FullBoreReefer
09/14/2017, 08:42 PM
On or off positions is consider manual mode in my opinion.

Jyetman
09/15/2017, 10:58 AM
Example of ON/OFF
So say your email or alarm switch is turned to the off position and you forget to put it back on auto so in a virtual outlet statement programmed to flash on Apex Display:

IF outlet EmailAlm_I5 = "OFF POSITION" then ON
IF outlet SndAlm_I6 = "OFF POSITION" then ON
IF outlet DOSER = "OFF POSITION" then ON
IF outlet TOP-OFF = "OFF POSITION" then ON

vhuang168
09/15/2017, 03:56 PM
I'm sorry but you are saying you want to turn on an outlet to turn on your email alert outlet for you!?!

Why would you turn off the email alert outlet in the 1st place? If you are getting an alert, may be you should fix the issue instead of ignoring it?


In what situation would you implement the If email alert statement and the if top off off statement?

ca1ore
09/15/2017, 07:50 PM
The classic apex has a limit to the number of custom names you can assign to probes or switches. Don't recall exactly how many, just that I exceeded them years ago. You can use virtual outlets to supplement.

I also fail to understand your point about the slider ON or OFF positions. They are manual controls that 'over-ride' any programming. AUTO enables the program.

Jyetman
09/15/2017, 08:54 PM
If you are not home when you get a email warning and don't want to keep getting pestered email after email after email after email (100+ txt messages to delete) etc etc I log in and disable the email outlet or a vital virtual outlet switch. So come home fix problem and guess WHAT you forget to slide the email switch or virtual back to AUTO equals major issue if something else goes wrong right!

vhuang168
09/16/2017, 11:00 AM
Yes but HOW would you program the email outlet to come back on by itself?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jyetman
09/16/2017, 02:56 PM
Yes but HOW would you program the email outlet to come back on by itself?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That's what I'm saying there needs to be more commands in order to do that.

vhuang168
09/16/2017, 03:02 PM
Let me phrase it another way. How would the outlet know to turn itself back on?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jyetman
09/16/2017, 09:31 PM
Let me phrase it another way. How would the outlet know to turn itself back on?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I guess a virtual outlet say "Email-Timer" could be programmed with a defer statement when at 0 a IF statement in EMAILALM_I5 "EMAIL-TIMER" = ON Then OFF would work.

vhuang168
09/17/2017, 09:25 AM
Email alarm is already turned OFF. It won't follow any programming put in it.

It not as easy as allowing certain statements to be used. They would have to reprogram the system so that if the outlets are turned off, they are not really turned off but are still open to programming.

You can put it on a wish list but don't hold your breath.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

slief
09/17/2017, 09:45 AM
If you want to to shut the email outlet off for a predetermined amount of time to avoid annoying texts then just use a feed timer to do it and set that feed timer for a long period of time. Then add a line to the email outlet that shuts the email off if the timer is on.