PDA

View Full Version : To skim or not to skim...

AquaAdam
09/16/2017, 12:48 PM
I've had my 60 gal. cube tank set up for a year and a half now and I have never had a protein skimmer. I had a small 10 gal. homemade sump which cracked recently and I ended up getting the eshopps rs-100, which I am very happy with. Since the new sump has a lot more room, I have been thinking about getting a protein skimmer for it. One side of me wants to, and the other side says you've made it this far why spend the money on it if you don't really need it. This is the only reef tank I've ever owned so I have no experience with protein skimmers.

If I was to get one for the sump, and my budget was $300 what should I be looking at? Has anyone else gone skimmerless to skimmer and been happy that they did?

Interested to hear your thoughts on this.

SAT
09/16/2017, 01:16 PM
The principal value of a protein skimmer is nutrient export: any nutrients (particularly phosphates) you add through food will either be removed by some export mechanism or they will accumulate in the tank. Other export mechanisms include growing and harvesting algae (e.g., Chaetomorpha), filter media of various sorts, and water changes.

To tell whether you have a problem in this area, and should add some additional mechanism, I suggest you monitor the phosphates and nitrates in your water. As long as the nutrient levels are stable at an acceptably low level, don't worry about it.

Scurvy Dawg
09/16/2017, 04:39 PM
Skim

Once you get a good skimmer and see the crud it takes out of your tank, you'll wonder why anyone wouldn't want one.

That being said, there are plenty of people that don't skim. To each his own.

UTCReefer
09/16/2017, 05:16 PM
I skim and recommend it for sure. It also aerates your water a ton which is probably a benefit as well

Harbour
09/16/2017, 06:41 PM