PDA

View Full Version : Mantis Setup


devildog999
09/20/2017, 03:41 PM
Wanting to tie a Mantis setup into my current setup. Was thinking about getting a 10g acrylic tank and a HOB overflow to connect to my current sump so that I could have a separate enclosure for a Mantis shrimp. I don't imagine this should be an issue but figured asking couldn't be bad. My other desire here was to make this another refugium. Currently have one in sump but putting some Cheato in with the Mantis for pods could end up working really nicely. My setup is going to be for Sea Horses in the long term and with a Mandarin Dragonet as well, a lot of pods would be good.

Thoughts?

Mr. Manty
09/22/2017, 10:03 AM
No problem depending on the species. Might prey on the pods, again, depending on the species. What species?

devildog999
09/22/2017, 03:08 PM
Was thinking Peacock. Even if it feasts on some of them, no biggie as long as they out produce their losses and I can't imagine that with also being fed what I have to feed, it will take out the whole lot. But hey, that's why I'm asking y'all so I could be very wrong.

No problem depending on the species. Might prey on the pods, again, depending on the species. What species?

Bobbitworm13
09/23/2017, 09:18 AM
If you want a peacock look at 40b plus as far as tank size. Peacocks get 6 plus inches and are very active. For a 10 gallon look into a Neogonodactylus wennerae or N. oerstedii. My personal preference is N. oerstedii if you can find one. They stay small, are active, personable, and the killer that you want in a mantis. HTH

devildog999
09/23/2017, 09:40 AM
Okay, I can do this and I appreciate it.

Hadla
09/23/2017, 05:14 PM
Or a smithii or ciliata if you can find either, very hardy and fun to watch

Although a ciliata needs like 20 gallons or so

Mr. Manty
09/26/2017, 11:35 AM
Good advice here.

I would think that a peacock would ignore pods/have a difficult time even finding them. My peacock certainly ignores blueleg hermits.